King Stingray, Wildfire Manwurrk Win Big At The 2023 National Indigenous Music Awards

12 August 2023 | 11:00 pm | Mary Varvaris

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Red Flag Dancers

Red Flag Dancers (Source: Supplied)

More King Stingray More King Stingray

Another year of the National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMAs) has passed, honouring one of the most influential Indigenous Australian acts of all time, Yothu Yindi, and celebrating young, up-and-coming First Nations artists.

King Stingray and Wildfire Manwurrk, the only outfits to win more than one award at the 2023 NIMAs, ended up dominating the event.

King Stingray swept up the Song Of The Year and Film Clip Of The Year categories with their song, Let’s Go, while Wildfire Manwurrk took home the Community Clip Of The Year for Mararradj as well as the Archie Roach Foundation Award.

Elsewhere on the night, rising star Budjerah won the coveted Artist Of The Year award after a massive 12 months that’s seen the artist open for and collaborate with international superstar Ed Sheeran, find radio success and the Best New Artist award at the Rolling Stone Australia award ceremony.

The 2022 triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner Bumpy won the New Talent Of The Year Award, as Thelma Plum was awarded the Album Of The Year for her Meanjin EP. Arnhem Land songwriter Ngulmiya won the Indigenous Language Award for his self-titled album, and, of course, Yothu Yindi were finally inducted into the NIMA Hall Of Fame.

To celebrate their induction, Yothu Yindi took to the stage and performed Treaty, but the delight didn’t stop there – the music icons’ (mostly) original line-up was joined by Yirrŋa Yunupiŋu, nephew of Dr Mandawuy Yunupiŋu and King Stingray vocalist.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The night was packed with performances by the Red Flag Dancers, Budjerah, Kobie Dee, Dean Brady, Thelma Plum, Barkaa, Ngulmiya and host Fred Leone, who performed his new single, Yirimi Gundir, to a live audience for the first time.

Leone and co-host Elaine Crombie brought the place down with laughs and undeniable charm. NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz praised all the winners and performers on the night, thanking everyone at the ceremony for their efforts.

“So proud of all the artists, performers, nominees and winners at this year’s NIMAs,” Graetz said. “It was an exceptional night of Blak excellence.”

Triple j will broadcast the highlights and the 2023 NIMAs to the radio on Blak Out on Sunday, 13 August.

To watch this year’s NIMAs, tune in to NITV and SBS On Demand on Sunday, 13 August, at 7:30 pm AEST. The re-broadcast will air on SBS Viceland on Friday, 18 August, at 11.05 pm and on SBS on Saturday, 19 August, at 9 am. This year’s ceremony was presented by Amazon Music.


Artist of the Year - Budjerah

New Talent of the Year - Bumpy

Film Clip of the Year - King Stingray - ‘Let’s Go’

Song of the Year - King Stingray - ‘Let’s Go’

Album of the Year - Thelma Plum - Meanjin (EP)

Community Clip of the Year - Wildfire Manwurrk - ‘Mararradj’

Indigenous Language Award – Ngulmiya - Self-Titled

Hall of Fame - Yothu Yindi

Archie Roach Foundation Award - Wildfire Manwurrk