G Flip, Genesis Owusu, RVG & More Shortlisted For 2024 APRA Song Of The Year

22 February 2024 | 12:05 am | Ellie Robinson

Other standouts include King Stingray, Amy Shark, Voyager and Troye Sivan.

G Flip / Genesis Owusu / RVG

G Flip / Genesis Owusu / RVG (Supplied)

More G Flip More G Flip

APRA AMCOS have announced the shortlist for this year’s APRA Song Of The Year competition, featuring a stack of beloved Aussie names both established and up-and-coming.

The 25 songs were all voted on by a board of Australian music industry professionals. This list will be further culled to a final list of five tracks – set to be announced on Thursday April 4 – before the winner will be crowned at this year’s APRA Music Awards ceremony. The event itself is slated to go down on Wednesday May 1 at the International Convention Centre on Gadigal land (Sydney).

This year’s shortlist features a handful of first-time appearances, including fast-rising grunge outfit Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers (who earned a nod for I Used To Be Fun), RVG (Nothing Really Changes), Gretta Ray (Heartbreak Baby) and Voyager (Promise, their 2023 Eurovision entry).

G Flip also made it on the shortlist for the first time ever, impressively taking out two nods for their DRUMMER singles Be Your Man and The Worst Person Alive. Genesis Owusu is the only other artist appearing twice on the list, noted for his STRUGGLER singles Get Inspired and Leaving The Light.

Also notable is the inclusion of the Gorillaz single New Gold, which is eligible on a technicality considering it features Tame Impala. The list is entirely Australian otherwise, with the biggest names featured including Sia (nominated for her single Gimme Love), Kylie Minogue (Hold On To Now) and Troye Sivan (Rush). Read on to see the full shortlist.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter



Amy SharkCan I Shower At Yours?
Angie McMahonLetting Go
Dan SultanStory
G FlipBe Your Man
G FlipThe Worst Person Alive
Genesis OwusuGet Inspired
Genesis OwusuLeaving The Light
GorillazNew Gold (ft. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown)
Gretta RayHeartbreak Baby
Jen CloherMana Takatāpui
Jessica MauboyGive You Love
King Gizzard & The Lizard WizardGila Monster
King StingrayLookin’ Out
Kylie MinogueHold On To Now
Matt CorbyReelin’
Paul KellyIf Not Now
RVGNothing Really Changes
SiaGimme Love
Teen Jesus And The Jean TeasersI Used To Be Fun
Tex Perkins & The Fat Rubber BandThis Monin’
The Teskey BrothersTake My Heart
Troye SivanRush