Stella Donnelly, Siobhan Cotchin & More Win At 2022 WAMAwards

2 November 2022 | 9:04 am | Emma Whines

WA Music Month is just getting started!

L-R: Stella Donnelly, Siobhan Cotchin, Adrian Dzvuke

L-R: Stella Donnelly, Siobhan Cotchin, Adrian Dzvuke

More Stella Donnelly More Stella Donnelly

The WAMAwards kicked off with a bang last night with stellar musicians and industry folk gathering at the Astor Theatre for a night of celebrating WA talent.

Siobhan Cotchin was the big winner of the night, collecting three wins for Best Vocalist, Best Country Act and Best EP for her release, Highways And Heartbreaks. Adrian Dzvuke wasn't too far behind, with two wins for Best Single and Best Pop Act, along with Supathick who also picked up two awards for Best Electronic/Dance Act and Best Music Video.

The major award of the night, the WAMi award, went to local legend Haley-Jane Ayres, Artist Manager/Entertainment Programmer and Owner/Partner of 360 Logistics. Ayres was recognised for her long tenure in the industry and her work on last year's Sound Music Mentorship Program and Conference.

The night also paid tribute in honouring this year’s Hall of Fame inductee, legendary industry all-rounder Sue Hamersley (RIP), with a fitting salute to her memory and achievements.

Live performances on the night from Ghost Care, Siobhan Cotchin, South Summit and Voyager further proved the exceptional talent coming out of the WA scene, and the importance of celebrating them through whatever means possible. 

For a full list of winners, see below. 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

2022 WAMAward Winners

Best Act: Coterie

Best Youth Act: Castle Hughes

Music Champion: Indi Bar

People's Choice: Jayden Tatasciore

Industry Votes Awards

Best Album: Stella Donnelly - Flood

Best E.P: Siobhan Cotchin - Highways and Heartbreaks

Best Single: Adrian Dzvuke - Phone Me When You're Lonely

Best Alternative/Indie Act: Lo

Best Rock Act: The Southern River Band

Best Pop Act: Adrian Dzvuke

Best Folk/Singer-songwriter Act: Jack Davies and the Bush Chooks

Best Experimental Act: Bad Whip

Best Electronic/Dance Act: Supathick

Best Metal/Heavy Act: Drowning Horse

Best Punk/Hardcore Act: The Shakeys

Best Blues/Roots Act: Abbe May

Best Hip-Hop/Rap Act: Drapht

Best R&B/Funk/Soul Act: Odette Mercy and Her Soul Atomics

Best Jazz Act: Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble

Best Country Act: Siobhan Cotchin 

Best Global Music Act: Grace Barbé

Best Indigenous Act: Gina Williams and Guy Ghouse

Label of the Year: Blue Grey Pink

Best Live Music Venue: Lyric's Underground

Best Live Music Event: In The Pines

Best Regional Act: Grand Casual

Craft Awards

Best Music Video: Supathick- Love Back

Best Live or Streaming Sound Engineer: James Newhouse

Best Studio Engineer/Producer: Lee Buddle - Crank Recording

Best Electronic Producer: Greg Packer

Bets Vocalist: Siobhan Cotchin

Best Key/Synth Player: Josiah Padmanabham

Best Bassist: Zach Grafton

Best Drummer/Percussion: Todd Pickett

Best Guitarist: Luke Dux

Best Brass/Woodwind/Strings Player: Ricki Mallet

The Grant Samuels Awards for Best Lyric: Joan & the Giants - The Weekend