Mere Women Unveil New Album Details & Tour Dates

5 May 2017 | 10:21 am | Staff Writer

Their third full-length, 'Big Skies', is set to land this June

More Mere Women More Mere Women

Sydney faves Mere Women have announced the release details for their upcoming third studio full-length, Big Skies, along with a run of tour dates in support.

The 12-track album is set to land in mid-June, packed with a dozen tunes exploring "women's experiences over generations, and the simultaneous isolation and confinement felt by many women living in regional communities". It features both the band's most recent single — the album's title track — and predecessor effort Drive.

The album was mostly written at the legendary Black Wire Records, a recent casualty of the increasingly difficult circumstances for DIY venues the nation over, and was recorded at St Peters studio One Flight Up with incumbent album engineer Tim Carr.

It also marks their first effort in their recently established new form as a four-piece, having introduced bassist Trisch Roberts at the beginning of last year to the existing triad of Amy Wilson (vocals/keys), Flyn McKinnirey (guitar) and Kat Byrne (drums).

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Pre-orders for Big Skies will be made available on 12 May ahead of its release via Poison City Records on 16 June.

The band will launch Big Skies — and play its songs live for the first time — on their ensuing tour, which kicks off in Canberra on Thursday 22 June and rolls through Sydney, Wollongong, Melbourne and Brisbane.

Special guests are yet to be announced, though tickets are on sale now if you're keen.

Mere Women —
Big Skies: Track List

  1. Eternally
  2. Silver and Gold
  3. Birthday
  4. Big Skies
  5. Curse
  6. Drive
  7. Visitor
  8. Is This Real
  9. Come Back
  10. Numb
  11. Tin Rooves
  12. Wanderer