Former Go-Betweens Member Elected Onto APRA Board

18 November 2015 | 1:30 pm | Staff Writer

Amanda Brown is welcomed, along with some more new faces

More The Go-Betweens More The Go-Betweens

APRA AMCOS have welcomed Amanda Brown, a classically-trained musician, composer and the former violinist and oboist of Brisbane indie rock legends The Go-Betweens, onto the APRA Board as their new Writer Director. 

Brown has been an APRA AMCOS member for 24 years and took out one of two Writer Director roles, from a pool of 19 others vying for the positions. TV and film composer Chris Neal picked up the other role.

Brett Cottle, Chief Executive of APRA AMCOS, said, "This represents a new wave of member engagement … We are working on a more diversified representation across the organisation, so the addition of a second woman joining Jenny Morris is great news.

"Recently we've introduced eight new female songwriters to our Ambassador program and the broad diversity of the finalist list for the 2015 Professional Development Awards indicate the increasing growth in female representation."

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Jenny Morris and Ian James of Mushroom Music, both return as Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively. 


  1. Jenny Morris OAM, Writer Director (Chair)
  2. Ian James, Mushroom Music (Deputy Chair)
  3. Bob Aird, Universal Music Publishing
  4. David Albert, J. Albert & Son
  5. Amanda Brown, Writer Director (new to the Board)
  6. Matthew Capper, Warner/Chappell Music Australia
  7. Brendan Gallagher, Writer Director
  8. Don McGlashan, Writer Director 
  9. Chris Neal, Writer Director (re-elected)
  10. Damien Trotter, Sony/ATV Music Publishing
  11. Philip Walker, Origin Music Group (re-elected)
  12. Nigel Westlake, Writer Director 

The AMCOS Board also sees Ian James return as Chair, with Jaime Gough of Native Tongue Music new to the board, and both Peter Hebbes of Hebbes Music Group and Steve McPherson of Hillsong Publishing re-elected.


  1. Ian James, Mushroom Music (Chair)
  2. Marianna Annas, ABC Music Publishing (Deputy Chair)
  3. Bob Aird, Universal Music Publishing
  4. David Albert, J. Albert & Son
  5. Philip Burn, Hal Leonard
  6. Matthew Capper, Warner/Chappell Music Australia
  7. Jaime Gough, Native Tongue Music (new to the Board)
  8. Peter Hebbes, Hebbes Music Group (re-elected)
  9. Steve McPherson, Hillsong Publishing (re-elected)
  10. Simon Moor, Kobalt Music Group
  11. Damien Trotter, Sony/ATV Music Publishing
  12. Philip Walker, Origin Music Group