Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

First Taste Of New EP From The Replacements Surfaces

27 February 2013 | 2:20 pm | Dan Condon

The first song we've heard from the band in years has appeared online.

More The Replacements More The Replacements

Late last year it was announced that the legendary and insanely influential rock band The Replacements would be recording a bunch of songs for the Songs For Slim project - an initiative to raise money for ailing former-Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap.

It's far from the original line up of the band - it features Paul Westerberg and Tommy Stinson along with fill-in members Peter Anderson and Kevin Bow - but it's the closest we've come to a Replacements reunion in a long time

The first song from it has appeared online, a cover of the Gordon Lightfoot song I'm Not Sayin', and it sounds pretty damn close to where the band left off. You'd hardly put it up there with any of their best material, but it's still damn good and has that rollicking spirit that we've always loved from the band.

You can listen to the song via-Pitchfork.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Here's the tracklist for the EP, which will be released on 10" vinyl through New West Records

1. Busted Up (Robert Dunlap)
2. Radio Hook Word Hit (Robert Dunlap)
3. I'm Not Sayin (Gordon Lightfoot)
4. Lost Highway (Leon Payne)
5. Everything's Coming Up Roses (Stephen Sondheim/Jule Styne)

The Songs For Slim project has attracted support from some amazing artists, with split 7" singles between Steve Earle and The Hold Steady's Craig Finn, Lucinda Williams and Tommy Keene announced so far. Future releases are expected from artists such as The Jayhawks, Frank Black, Lucero, Jakob Dylan and Australia's own You Am I.

See more details about the project here.