Clairy Browne, Matt Corby, Guy Sebastian & Oh Mercy Among 2012 ISC Winners

1 May 2013 | 4:23 pm | Dan Condon

The International Songwriting Competition has been dominated by Aussies yet again.

Australian artists have once again polled very nicely in this year's International Songwriting Competition, taking out plenty of victories and podium finishes in the annual contest.

The biggest winner this year was Clairy Browne & The Bangin' Rackettes whose song Love Letter picked up first place in the AAA category, beating out fellow Aussie Matt Corby whose Brother picked up second place.

Alexander Gow won second place in the Adult Contemporary category for the Oh Mercy tune Drums. The Wes Carr and Eric Silver penned Blood and Bone for Carr's Buffalo Tales project took out second place in the folk/singer-songwriter category this year.

Oddly, the winner of this year's Americana category comes from Darwin! David Garnham's Love Inside A Jar taking out the prize in that section of the awards, while Sydney's Oscar Jimenez managed to snag second place in the Latin category this year for his song Isabela.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Kimbra and Francois Tetaz have won the Pop/Top 40 category this year, with the Kimbra tune Good Intent beating out the competition and the hugely popular Battle Scars by Guy Sebastian and Lupe Fiasco was unstoppable in the R&B/hip hop category, taking out first place there.

Brisbane's Thomas Calder has managed third place in the Rock category with his tune Six Month In A Cast, written for his own The Trouble With Templeton project and Harry Hookey from Conwarr in Victoria has taken out first place in the Unsigned Only category this year for his song Misdiagnosed.

As well as these winners, there were a few Aussies give Highly Commended nods in their respective categories; Don't Fuck With Joe by The Blackwater Fever and Mind Waltz by Jacob Butler and Ben Stolz both snagging a mention in the AAA category. Catherine Britt picked up two mentions in the Americana category for her tunes Sally Bones and All I Recall, while Harry Hookey's Audrey's Song, Kieran Glasgow's Learn Those Lessons and Matt Ellis' Dangers Of The Night were all commended in that same category.

Ash Grunwald was the only Aussie to rate a mention in the Blues category, his Longtime scoring a commendation, while The Lamplights from the Gold Coast were the only Aussie impressing the judges in the Children's Music category with their song The Hopping Mouse.

It Gets To Me by Kirsty Akers, I'm A Dreamer by Jetty Road and Home by the great Troy Cassar-Daley were all commended in the Country category of this year's competition, while One Little River by Clare Bowditch and Hit Me With Your Heart by Sam Buckingham were commended in the Folk/Singer Songwriter section.

Toowoomba's Steve Russell did us proud with his A Ticket Out O' Here commended in the Jazz section of this year's competition, the lyrics of The Day The Rain Came by Sydney's John Walsh were commended in the Lyrics Only category while the film clips for Skipping Girl Vinegar's Chase The Sun, Natasha Duarte's Punch Me In The Heart and Pluto Jonze's See What The Sun Sees all commended in the Music Video category.

Good Intent by Kimbra was also up for the Performance award, but was only highly commended, likewise Guy Sebastian had a second shot with his Get Along up for the Pop award, but had the same fate.

A number of Aussies were Highly Commended in the Rock category, with Ash Grunwald's Walking, Oh Mercy's Fever, Blackchords' Dance, Dance, Dance and The Blackwater Fever's Can't Help Yourself all rating a mention.

Youngster Ayla Scanlan was given a commendation in the Teen category for her song Talk About Home, as was Melbourne's Jaron Natoli for his song Running Away. Easy To Say by Frieda's Boss was commended in the World category, while For My Help by Hayden Calnin and Same Small Town by Luke O'Shea were given a nod in the Unsigned Only section.

The full list of winners is available here.