Bananarama's Original Line-up Is Back Together After Almost 30 Years

24 April 2017 | 3:41 pm | Staff Writer

And they're heading out on their first-ever tour this November and December

More Bananarama More Bananarama

Veteran British pop outfit Bananarama have reassembled their original line-up, welcoming co-founder Siobhan Fahey back to the ranks after almost 30 years away, and are embarking on their first-ever tour together later this year.

The iconic trio announced the news of the reunion on social media this morning (AEST), explaining that they'd be going on tour in November and December this year. While nothing is concrete beyond British shores, it remains a possibility that they'll take their first-ever sojourn together to other countries.

The band was founded in 1979 by Fahey along with Sara Dallin and Keren Woodward, and the three created music together until Fahey's departure in 1988. She was replaced until 1991 by former member Jacquie O'Sullivan, before Dallin and Woodward decided to continue on as a duo.

Bananarama were responsible for a string of Top 10 hits over their first decade, during which time they released well-known tunes such as 1982's Shy Boy, Really Saying Something and It Ain't What You Do, 1983's Cruel Summer and Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye, and 1984's Robert De Niro's Waiting... before striking international gold with 1986 hit (and US #1) Venus, originally performed by Dutch rock outfit Shocking Blue.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Although the original line-up performed together occasionally during their original stint — they even made an appearance on Top Of The Pops together in 1983 — they were primarily a studio act.

The band's first concert tour, of which O'Sullivan was a part, was 1988's Japan-exclusive Lovekids Tour before undertaking their first world tour (including to Australia) in 1989. Dallin and Woodward most recently visited Australia last year, their first stop Down Under since 1997.

Bananarama released four albums between 1983 and 1987, putting out a further six studio albums following Fahey's exit, the most recent of which is 2009's Viva.