Thy Art Is Murder Sit On A 'Blood Throne' In Scorching New Single

16 August 2023 | 11:33 am | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

Blood Throne is the third single from Thy Art Is Murder's sixth album, Godlike, following Join Me In Armageddon and Keres.

Thy Art Is Murder

Thy Art Is Murder (Credit: Third Eye Visuals)

More Thy Art Is Murder More Thy Art Is Murder

With a month until Thy Art Is Murder launch their new album, Godlike (set for release on Friday, 15 September), the Australian metal lords have unveiled another scorching new single, Blood Throne.

Featuring real-world footage of the stock exchange, printing money, newspapers, news reports and animated TV series interspersed with clips of the band ripping it up in a red-lit room, Blood Throne is yet another brutally heavy track from the band’s forthcoming album.

“As we started work on Blood Throne, we aimed to harness the same visceral energy that drove Death Squad Anthem [from 2019 album Human Target] while pushing our boundaries to craft something unique,” guitarist Andy Marsh offered in a statement.

“Kicking things off with a breakbeat groove, we wanted to set the tone with a jolt to the system preparing everyone for the chaos ahead. Blood Throne embodies our attempt at creative anthemic power and groove spiralling into a reflection of oppressive organisations and regimes that profit and thrive on the toil and pain of the marginalised.”

Marsh continued to say that throughout the band’s career, Thy Art Is Murder have confronted these themes on multiple occasions “with the aim of igniting a fire within each listener and inspiring the collective strength to challenge the dominion of those who perpetuate suffering.” You can watch the music video for Blood Throne below.

Blood Throne is the third single from Godlike, following Join Me In Armageddon and Keres. Godlike, the band’s sixth album, is also their first completely independently released record via their own label, Human Warfare. You can pre-order the album here.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The press release teases vocalist CJ McMahon’s “strongest performance ever” as he belts through lyrics through the lens of multiple Gods, confronting how cycles of violence continue over time no matter how much belief systems evolve and feelings of separation in a hyper-polarised world.

Godlike saw the band reunite with legendary producer and mixer Will Putney, to deliver ten nihilistic tracks. Putney is also a member of the bands END, Fit For An Autopsy, and the Every Time I Die and Dillinger Escape Plan supergroup, Better Lovers.

Thy Art Is Murder – Godlike tracklist

1. Destroyer of Dreams

2. Blood Throne

3. Join Me In Armageddon

4. Keres

5. Everything Unwanted

6. Lesson in Pain

7. Godlike

8. Corrosion

9. Anathema

10. Bermuda