Signal The Firing Squad's Catalogue Removed From Streaming Services

26 May 2023 | 1:31 pm | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

At least we have YouTube and Bandcamp...

Photo of Signal The Firing Squad

Photo of Signal The Firing Squad (Source: Facebook)

More Signal The Firing Squad More Signal The Firing Squad

Originators of Australia’s 2000s deathcore scene, Signal The Firing Squad, have had their music removed from streaming services after manually putting their music on Spotify, Apple Music, etc., according to fan reports.

Signal The Firing Squad formed in Kawana, Queensland, in 2007 and disbanded in November 2013. In their active period, the band released two albums: Earth Harvest (2010) and Abnegate (2012). In 2008, the band released an EP entitled The Beginning and released Demo 2009 not long after.

Fans of bands who weren’t around for long and don’t have a social media presence know the pain of dedicating their time to continuing to listen to Signal The Firing Squad, and now, the only streaming platform holding their music is Bandcamp.

However, it comes with a catch: Bandcamp’s version of Earth Caller only has the first five tracks available to stream. If fans want to listen further, they have to buy the digital album for $15. Fans can also listen to the band on YouTube, with the full albums added to the video platform five and ten years ago.

“Signal The Firing Squad is no longer on streaming services,” one fan wrote on Facebook, accompanied by a sad face emoji. According to another fan, Signal The Firing Squad’s music was only added to streaming services in mid-May.

However, it’s not all bad news for the OG deathcore scene – Signal The Firing Squad vocalist Kyson Shepherd has joined the Brisbane outfit Babirusa, who are currently working on their second album.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Shepherd featured on Babirusa’s February single, Pylon, sharing vocal duties with Rheese Peters.

Since forming in 2015, Babirusa have released the following singles: Desolation System (2019), Abomination and Mandatory Malevolence (2020), with the first two featuring on the band’s 2020 album, Humanoid.