Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Hear Classic Dance Tracks Get The Symphony Treatment At Ministry Of Sound's 'Orchestrated'

17 June 2017 | 7:16 am | Staff Writer

Here for iiiitttt

Sydney and Melbourne dance-music fans are in for a treat of the classiest of orders this August when Ministry Of Sound hosts its pair of Orchestrated shows, reimagining some of the greatest electronic tracks with the assistance of a live symphony orchestra.

With the assistance of creative director, renowned DJ and live collaborator Simon Lewicki — aka Groove Terminator — the Ministry Of Sound Orchestra, led by conductor Guy Noble with musical director Adam Sofo and lauded artist/composer Lionel Towers (Gypsy & The Cat), will put a decidedly classical bent on iconic hits from the likes of Fatboy Slim, Bag Raiders, Shapeshifters, Massive Attack and more.

"The opportunity to play these classic tracks I have loved for many years on a whole another level with a full orchestra is really the stuff dreams are made of," Lewicki enthused in a statement.

He'll not be the only big name joining the fun, either, with both soul singer Daniel Merriweather and singer-songwriter Owl Eyes lined up to provide vocal action to accompany the MOS Orchestra's remixed, rearranged takes on the great dance tunes of the past couple of decades.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

"After working in clubs and events for 25 years, the chance to take these much-loved records onto a big stage in this exciting new format with a full orchestra is a brand new chapter in the ever evolving story of the Ministry Of Sound brand," Ministry Of Sound Events Australia chief executive Tim McGee said of the shows.

They'll be in fittingly stylish surrounds, too, with Melbourne's show being held at Hamer Hall, and Sydney's event at the State Theatre.

Frontier Members will be able to enjoy pre-sale privileges from 2pm AEST this coming Wednesday, 21 June, for 24 hours or until the allocation is exhausted.

General-public tickets will go on sale from 10am local time on Friday 23 June via Ticketmaster.