Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

East Meets West As Manx Returns

20 April 2012 | 1:55 pm | Staff Writer

More Harry Manx More Harry Manx

Considered by many to be one of the few key connecting artists between music of the east and the west, Harry Manx is truly more than just your average musician. He's a devotee of his craft, even going so far as to spend five years studying the Mohan Veena – a 20 stringed instrument that can loosely be described as a cross between a sitar and a slide guitar – in India with its creator Vishwa Mohan Bhatt. His love of American blues and folk styles as well as Indian Hindustani classical music means that the music he produces is utterly unique, but thankfully he pulls it off with aplomb. Manx must really love Australia as he has toured here countless times over the past decade or so and he is back very soon with dates up and down the east coast all through May. World music journeyman Yeshe supports.

Dates are as follows:

Wednesday 9 May – The Basement, Sydney

Thursday 10 May – The Clarendon Guesthouse, Katoomba

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Friday 11 May – Brisbane Powerhouse

Saturday 12 May – Woombye Pub

Sunday 13 May – Mullumbimby Civic Hall

Tuesday 15 May – Bellingen Golf Club

Wednesday 16 May – Cassegrain Winery, Port Macquarie

Thursday 17 May– Lizotte's, Newcastle

Friday 18 May – Lizotte's, Newcastle

Saturday 19 May – Lizotte's, Kincumber

Sunday 20 May – Lizotte's, Kincumber

Wednesday 23 May – Cube 37, Frankston Arts Centre

Thursday 24 May – The Corner, Melbourne