The Radar: This Week's Tunes You Need To Know – October 13

13 October 2023 | 12:12 pm | Ellie Robinson

From bubblegum bangers to ripping rock, cruisy country and rousing rap, here are the tracks that should be on your radar for this week.

Troye Sivan

Troye Sivan (Credit: Stuart Winecoff)

More Troye Sivan More Troye Sivan

Every Friday in The Radar, The Music breaks down the week’s top performers and the breaking new music you need to be across.


It’s a huge day of new music for Purple Sneakers readers, with Spotify and Apple Music both stacking their flagship playlists with fresh hip-hop and EDM releases. Spotify’s New Music Friday spread is led by Troye Sivan’s One Of Your Girls (the focus track from his third album, Something To Give Each Other, also released today), followed right behind by AIEOU – a joint effort between PNAU and Empire Of The Sun (both projects of Nick Littlemore’s), and the latter’s first new single in some four years.

Those are the only two songs shared in the Top Ten on Apple’s own New Music Daily playlist, where they appear respectively at #2 and #6. Apple’s playlist is headlined by Offset’s WORTH IT (a collab with Don Toliver), while their Top Three is rounded out by blink-182’s FELL IN LOVE (Spotify, on the other hand, put SOUTHSIDE DILLA by Day1 in that spot). Also featured in Apple’s Top Ten are the latest tracks by Lord Apex and Freddie Gibbs (Phoenix), Y.O.G.A. and Jimi The Kween (Interstellar), Teenage Joans (Yoke), Aidan Fine (Angel, featuring Lucretius), Taylor Moss (Guitar & A Suitcase) and STUMPS (David Byrne).

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Spotify also spotlit a country song, rounding our their own Top Ten with It Takes A Woman by Chris Stapleton. Also billed highly by the big green streamer are Fred again.. and Jozzy (with ten), Djanaba (F.U.), Skepta (Can’t Play Myself, a tribute to Amy Winehouse), Connor Price and Oliver Cronin (Ruby), and Yumi Zouma (be okay).


There were no new songs added across the board (ATB) at the NOVA Network this week, but Zach Bryan’s self-titled album cut I Remember Everything (Featuring Kacey Musgraves) did make it to the daytime rotation. Kenya Grace’s Strangers made it to the mix in Smallzy’s Surgery, too, and Saving Up by Dom Dolla was given a regular spin in the late-night spot.

Meanwhile at the Hit Network, Doja Cat’s Paint The Town Red was added to the national drive slot, while two songs were added to the nighttime slot: American Town by Ed Sheeran and adore u by Fred again.. and Obongjayar. On top of those, a whopping five new songs were added to the late-night rotation: Saving Up by Dom Dolla, Trust Me Mate by Dean Lewis, Out Of Luck by Tkay Maidza (Featuring Lolo Zouai and Amber Mark), Afterglow by Sam Fischer and Hopeless by Illy (featuring Indiana Massara).

Another five songs were added ATB at Sydney’s KIIS 1065Desire by Calvin Harris and Sam Smith, American Town by Ed Sheeran, Better Place by *NSYNC and Justin Timberlake, Lil Boo Thang by Paul Russell, and Greedy by Tate McRae – while Dean Lewis’ Trust Me Mate made it to the nighttime rotation.

This week’s triple j feature album went to Teen Jesus And The Jean Teasers, with tracks from their debut album, I Love You, being spun regularly all throughout the week. Drake was also shown some love with tracks from his eighth album, For All The Dogs, making it to the airwaves as this week’s spotlight album.

Meanwhile, six of the Js’ eight adds ATB came from Australian artists – Saving Up by Dom Dolla, Not Your Fault by FELIVAND, Don’t Let Him Say Goodbye by JACOTÉNE, Healing by Molly Millington, Fried Rice by Royel Otis, and Sometimes (My Brain Doesn’t Work) by Somber Hills and Between You & Me – with the spate rounded out by Brent Faiyaz’s WY@ and Kenya Grace’s Strangers.

As for the national youth broadcaster’s spot adds, only one came from an international artist – HOT TO GO! by the US’ Chappell Roan – while the other four were all Australian: Lalaland by 1300, SIP by BOY SODA, Gimme Some More by Cosmo’s Midnight (featuring Shungudzo) and Nomadic by Jemzel.

This week’s Radio Monitor Hot 50 chart is once again topped by Taylor Swift’s Cruel Summer, followed at #2 by The Weeknd’s Popular (featuring Playboi Carti and Madonna). Miley Cyrus is back in the Top Three with Used To Be Young, though, rounding out the trio in a leap up from last week’s #6 spot. The #4 and #5 spots have also swapped, respectively taken out in this week’s chart by Olivia Rodrigo (with vampire) and Dua Lipa (Dance The Night).

Further down the list, this week’s chart brings us just one new entry (SZA’s Snooze at #41) and one return (Hold Me Closer by Elton John and Miley Cyrus at #47).


Hear the big new country tunes of the week on the Countrytown Hot Country Hits Playlist.

In addition to those new tracks by Chris Stapleton and Taylor Moss, Spotify and Apple Music both spotlit Storm Like Me, the latest tune from the Central Coast’s own Little Quirks. Spotify’s New Music Friday playlist also features new songs by Adam Newling (Difference Of Opinion) and Caitlin Harnett & The Pony Boys (Lil Ripper), while Apple’s New Music Daily features Riley Green (My Last Rodeo), Jon Pardi and Luke Bryan (Cowboys And Plowboys), Restless Road (You Don’t Have To Love Me), and Tebey (Where I Wanna Be).

Looking at this week’s Countrytown Hot 50 chart, the #1 spot is once again taken out by Travis Collins and The Wolfe Brothers with their indomitable hit Runnin’ The Country, however the rest of the Top Five has been given a welcomed shake-up: Lainey Wilson and Morgan Wallen both jumped two places – with Watermelon Sunshine at #2 and Everything I Love at #3, respectively – while Casey Barnes’ slumped down from #3 to #4 with his single Never Give Up On A Good Time. And lastly, Ed Sheeran is back at #5 with his Luke Combs-assisted redux of Life Goes On.

There are four new entries in this week’s chart: All These Parts by Andrew Swift at #30, Overthinking by Amy Sheppard at #31, Back Then Right Now by Tyler Hubbard at #38, and We Ride by Bryan Martin at #45. Right underneath the lattermost inclusion, we see both of our two re-entries: Date Night by Kita Alexander (featuring Morgan Evans) at #46, and Dancin’ In The Country by Tyler Hubbard at #47.

Hear the big new tunes of the week now on The Music Hit List.
For the hottest rock, punk and metal jams, check out
Kill Your Stereo’s Heavy Hitlist.
And for the latest in hip-hop and EDM, get your ears around
Purple Sneakers’ Best New Music.