Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

This Week's Releases

24 September 2015 | 3:16 pm | Staff Writer

Disclosure — Caracal (PMR/Island/Universal)

Picking up our Album Of The Week, Caracal "extends their influence as tastemakers", having "stuck to their strengths" and "challenged themselves to avoid overthinking their approach". With high-profile guest vocalists like Sam Smith, "the sense of space remains in their production, but is magnified". Stand-out tracks include Echoes, Molecules and Omen. We gave it four stars.

Chvrches — Every Open Eye (Glassnote/Liberator)

The Scottish powerhouses are "becoming something special", even in their 1980s model of synth-pop. Lauren Mayberry's voice and presence is "more individual" — her "voice is human, but don't mistake its apparent fragility for weakness." The band offer variety with High Enough To Carry You Over, with "Martin Doherty handling the lead vocal to reinforce a different point of view". We gave Chvrches four stars.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Parkway Drive — Ire (Resist/Cooking Vinyl)

The band "proudly signal a new beginning" with Ire, packing "strings or piano flourishes and unexpected touches like Gregorian chants", but still offering "a sonic gut-punch". Vice Grip is "cheesy but likeable", Crushed offers "pseudo-rapping", while other songs offer Winston McCall "bordering on semi-clean vocals". We gave Ire three-and-a-half stars.

and the rest of the releases…

All The Colours — Vol. 2 (Independent)
Ash Grunwald — Now (Shock)
Bad Company — Rock'N'Roll Fantasy: The Very Best Of Bad Company (Rhino/Warner)
Big Grams — Big Grams (Epic/Sony)
CHVRCHES — Every Open Eye (Goodbye/Liberator)
The Crayon Fields — No One Deserves You (Chapter Music)
Danny Yau — Do You Think We'll Live Here Forever? (Independent)
David Bowie — Five Years 1969 — 1973 (Parlophone/Warner)
Doe Paoro — After (Anti-/Warner)
Don Henley  Cass County (EMI)
Elliphant  Living Life Golden (Sony)
Emma Pask  Cosita Divina (Independent)
Fetty Wap  Fetty Wap (Warner)
Fever The Ghost — Zirconium Meconium (Heavenly Recordings/[PIAS] Australia)
Flour  Morbid Thoughts (Poison City Records)
Going Swimming — Deadtime Stories (Independent)
Graveyard — Innocence & Decadence (Nuclear Blast/Caroline)
Jemma & The Clifton Hillbillies — Jemma & The Clifton Hillbillies (Independent)
Jeremy Neale — Let Me Go Out In Style (Dot Dash/Remote Control)
Julia Holter — Have You In My Wilderness (Domino/EMI)
Kurt Vile — b'lieve i'm goin down… (Matador/Remote Control)
Lachlan Bryan & The Wildes — The Mountain (ABC/Universal)
Maroon 5 — Singles (Universal)
Menace Beach Super Transporterreum (Shock)
My Own Pet Radio — Goodlum (Stop Start/Inertia)
New Order — Music Complete (Mute/Create Control)
Next To None  A Light In The Dark (Inside Out/Century Media)
ONE OK ROCK — 35xxxv (Warner)
Patty Griffin — Servant Of Love (Thirty Tigers/Cooking Vinyl)
Peaches — Rub (Kartel/Rocket)
Pierce Brothers  Into The Dirt (Warner)
Silversun Pickups  Better Nature (New Machine Recordings)
Svalbard — One Day All This Will End (Shock)
The Dead Weather  Dodge And Burn (Third Man Records/Warner)
The Meanies — It's Not Me, It's You (Poison City Records)
The Pinheads — I Wanna Be A Girl (Farmer & The Owl/Inertia)
The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die — Harmlessness (Epitaph/Warner)
Tony Bennett & Bill Charlap — The Silver Lining: The Songs Of Jerome Kern (Columbia/Sony)
U.S. Girls — Half Free (4AD/Remote Control)
World's End Press — Tall Stories (Liberation)
Youth Lagoon  Savage Hill Ballroom (Fat Possum/Inertia)