No Fixed Address Return With New Members

28 December 2023 | 5:14 pm | Ellie Robinson

The news comes in tandem with a special one-off show in Melbourne.

No Fixed Address

No Fixed Address (Facebook)

More No Fixed Address More No Fixed Address

Reggae rock legends No Fixed Address have confirmed their return to the spotlight with two new members, alongside a special one-off show in Melbourne (Naarm).

As confirmed by the band last Saturday (December 23), the lineup now consists of founding members Bart Willoughby (who sings and plays guitar, drums and didgeridoo) and Ricky Harrison (guitar), as well as newcoming bassist Tjimba Possum Burns (of Yung Warriors fame) and lead guitarist Selwyn Burns (best known for his work in Coloured Stone and Blackfire).

Burns had notably played in No Fixed Address once before, also shredding it up on guitar throughout 1984 and ’85. In returning to the band, he takes the role filled throughout 2023 by Sean Moffatt and Murray Cook.

Announced in tandem with the new lineup was a very special Naarm show for No Fixed Address, set to go down on Saturday January 27 at the Brunswick Ballroom. Tickets are on sale now – find them here.

No Fixed Address was launched by Willoughby and Harrison (alongside lead guitarist Leslie Freeman, bassist John Miller and saxophonist Veronica Rankine) in 1979, after they first convened as students at the Centre for Aboriginal Studies in Music (CASM) in North Adelaide. Prior to their initial dissolution in 1985, the band released two studio albums: Wrong Side Of The Road in 1981, and From My Eyes the following year.

2011 saw No Fixed Address inducted into the National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) Hall Of Fame. Five years later, in 2016, the band were inducted into the South Australian Music Hall Of Fame. A comprehensive biography on the band – plainly titled No Fixed Address and written by former music journalist Donald Robertson – was also published in May of this year.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter