The Annual AMP Award Shortlist Has Been Unveiled

3 February 2016 | 8:40 am | Staff Writer

Ten albums make the list

More Tame Impala More Tame Impala

In the lead up to the 11th Australian Music Prize (AMP), the final shortlist has today been announced which features ten albums from both established and rising Australian acts, including Tame Impala, Courtney Barnett, Gold Class, Dick Diver and more. 

Chosen by an expert 16-member industry judging panel, the final ten were nominated from a longlist of 56 albums, with the winner to be announced on 9 March at the 'Amped Up In Conversation' event.

Check out the full shortlist below (in alphabetical order). 

Courtney Barnett — Sometimes I Sit & Think & Sometimes I Just Sit

Dan Kelly — Leisure Panic

Dick Diver — Melbourne, Florida

Gold Class — It's You

Jess Ribeiro — Kill It Yourself

Methyl Ethel — Oh Inhuman Spectacle

My Disco — Severe

Royal Headache — High

Sarah Blasko — Eternal Return

Tame Impala — Currents

The 11th awards will step away from tradition, as previous years have only included nine albums in the shortlist. 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Chairperson of the Judging Panel Dave Faulkner said of the change, "Artists like Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett have won recognition around the world for their work but there were countless other excellent albums released across a whole range of genres last year."

"As a result, the AMP’s judges decided to increase the Shortlist to ten albums this year instead of the usual nine. This is only the second time this has happened since the Australian Music Prize began eleven years ago.

"No list of ten albums could ever capture the diversity of music that was produced in the country over the last year and many great albums only narrowly missed making the Shortlist, breaking some AMP judges’ hearts in the process, however these were the ten albums that the sixteen judges agreed were the best of the year. Any one of them will make a worthy winner."

The winner will received a generous $30,000 in prize money thanks to the PPCA. 

the 11ath amp awards shortlist