Jimmy Barnes & Chris Cheney-Led Supergroup The Barnestormers Announce Debut Album

10 March 2023 | 10:02 am | Mary Varvaris

The Barnestormers aren’t just here with a new song, the band will also release a self-titled album, out for release on Friday, 26 May.

(Source: Supplied)

More Jimmy Barnes More Jimmy Barnes

Introducing The Barnestormers, featuring Jimmy Barnes on vocals, The Living End’s Chris Cheney on guitar, Stray CatsSlim Jim Phantom on drums, producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley on bass, and UK music legend Jools Holland (yep, that Jools Holland with the music television show) playing the piano. An unlikely five-piece, for sure, but it somehow works.

Taking on the Don Walker song, Johnny’s Gone, The Barnestormers are a far cry from the screamed vocals over rock songs of Cold Chisel - this is a rockabilly group.

Jimmy Barnes revealed the existence of this new supergroup on the first episode of the new season of RocKwiz a few weeks ago.

The Barnestormers aren’t just here with a new song, the band will also release a self-titled album, out for release on Friday, 26 May, which you can pre-order here. Check out the tracklist below.

In December, Barnes was given the all-clear following major hip surgery

"A visit from my mate Sam Neill and a Yes to going home tomorrow," the Working Class Man singer posted on social media. 

"It’s like all my Christmases have come at once. [His daughter] Elly May put hats on us so we’d be more festive. A new hip and good health, a few months off home with my girl, the best present I could ever ask for". The caption follows a picture of Barnes and actor Sam Neill sitting on a hospital bed with smiles on their faces.

His mates in The Living End helped out when Barnes had to pull out of shows while he was recovering from surgery.

Chris Cheney released his debut solo album, The Storm Before The Calm, last June. Following nine albums and tours across the globe as a member of The Living End, The Storm Before The Calm found Cheney exploring his own unique sound for the first time. 

It offers an incredibly personal reflection from the singer-songwriter, capturing him in his songwriting prime, discussing his struggles through a personal breakdown, substance abuse, the loss of his father, and the near dissolution of his marriage. 

“It’s not been an easy road and I’ve wanted to throw the towel in many times, but I knew if I could just finish this album, then I’d have created something special,” Cheney said about the record.

"That’s why it feels like a personal triumph for me, not just because I got it finished, and not just because it’s a different album to anything I’ve ever done; but because I think It’s the best album I’ve ever done.”

The Barnestormers tracklist:

  1. Sweet Love On My Mind 

  2. Working for the Man 

  3. Johnny's Gone 

  4. Lonesome Train 

  5. Thirteen Women (And Only One Man) 

  6. Dear Dad 

  7. Crazy Crazy Lovin' 

  8. Sweet Nothin's 

  9. Land of Hope and Glory 

  10. Real Wild Child 

  11. 25 to Life