Australia Decides Its Eurovision Champion Tonight: Here's What You Need To Know

7 February 2020 | 2:20 pm | Staff Writer

Who do you want to represent Australia at Eurovision 2020?

The two-day battle to decide who will represent Australia at Eurovision kicks off today. We here at The Music absolutely adore all things Eurovision so are nerding out ahead of the weekend's shenanigans. 

Maybe you too are getting the pre-Eurovision jitters or maybe you're a noob and want to know what to expect - whatever the case, we've got you covered. Here's everything you need to know to be prepared. 

Wait, what actually is Eurovision - Australia Decides?

Eurovision - Australia Decides launched last year and sees a group of local artists compete to represent Australia at the annual Eurovision competition. Both a jury and the Australian public will decide the winner. 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Who's competing? 

It's stiff competition this year with Vanessa Amorosi, Montaigne, Didirri, Jaguar Jonze, Casey Donovan, Jack Vidgen, Diana Rouvas, Mitch Tambo, iOTA and Jordan-Ravi all in the running.

What will they be singing? 

We've put together a list of the tracks so you can get familiar here.

Where can I watch it? 

It's all going down at the Gold Coast Convention & Exhibition Centre with a jury voting on the ten tracks at the opening show tonight. Tomorrow, following a matinee show, the contestants will battle it out in the final. If you're not on the Gold Coast, don't fret. SBS will be airing a live TV broadcast from 8.30pm AEDT on 8 February.

Who are the hosts?

Myf Warhurst, fresh out of the I'm A Celebrity... jungle, and Joel Creasey will return as hosts in 2020. They'll be joined by Eurovision royalty, 2015 winner Måns Zelmerlöw and Eurovision boss Jon Ola Sand.

How can I vote?

Voting lines open at 8.30pm AEDT tonight and will remain open throughout the live TV final. Voting will close at 10.15pm AEDT on Saturday 8 February.

You'll have to note the song number of your preferred act/s and then text the song number to 1999 2222. Voting costs $0.55 per vote and is limited to 20 votes per mobile number. 

Who won last year?

The inaugural Australia Decides competition featured big names like Sheppard, Courtney Act and Ella Hooper, as well as a breakout performance by BIGSOUND 2019 act Electric Fields. Kate Miller-Heidke went on to win.

Miller-Heidke finished in ninth spot at Eurovision 2019 with her original song Zero Gravity, while The Netherlands’ Duncan Laurence was crowned the winner.

What happens next?

The 2020 Eurovision Song Contest will be its 65th edition. The contest will be held in Rotterdam and whoever ends up as our Australian contestant will battle it out in Semi Final 1 on 12 May, against the likes of Ireland, Belgium, Sweden and Norway, before the Grand Final takes place on 16 May.

Happy Eurovision!