Catfish & The Bottlemen Unveil Album Release Details & New Video

24 March 2016 | 12:06 pm | Staff Writer

See the clip for new single 'Soundcheck' while we wait for forthcoming LP 'The Ride'

More Catfish & The Bottlemen More Catfish & The Bottlemen

British indie darlings Catfish & The Bottlemen have announced the May release of their eagerly awaited new studio full-length The Ride, preceding the new work by unveiling the fresh video clip for recent single Soundcheck.

The new album — written by frontman Van McCann and produced by D Sardy — is packed with 11 new tracks of Catfishy goodness, including the anthemic new cut. It was recorded primarily in Los Angeles, and will be released locally via Island Records/Caroline Australia. 

"I feel like everybody started thinking too outside the box trying to be arty and different," McCann said of the forthcoming release in a statement. "We wanted to stay inside the box." 

"I always say if you can play it on an acoustic guitar and win over a bar or a kitchen even of rowdy people … then you've done it … that's how I see songwriting."

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The clip for Soundcheck was directed by Malia James — she of LA-based pop-punkers The Dum Dum Girls — and maintains the band's penchant for monochromatic visuals; it's just fortunate the song itself is a far more colourful affair. Check it out below.

The Ride, by Catfish & The Bottlemen, will be released on Friday 27 May via Island Records/Caroline Australia.

See the full track list and artwork below.

catfish & the bottlemen - the ride track list

1. 7

2. Twice

3. Soundcheck

4. Postpone

5. Anything

6. Glasgow

7. Oxygen

8. Emily

9. Red

10. Heathrow

11. Outside