This Week's Releases

3 March 2016 | 1:59 pm | Staff Writer

Cub Sport, Lapsley, M Ward and more

The Cat Empire — Rising With The Sun (Two Shoes/Inertia)

The six-piece has once again skilfully managed to mash up "jazz, soul, funk and rock into some fantastic autumn party anthems", though the band have also "toned things down a little, delivering a quieter, more experimental and ultimately more reflective set". "Defiantly upbeat" Bataclan honours Paris's slain victims, while Wolves and Bulls "kick things off with a rush". We gave it four stars.

Elizabeth Rose — Intra (Midnight Feature/Inertia)

Intra "struggles to balance the thin line between style and substance", though there are album highlights such as "radio crossover" hit Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda and Another Earth. However, convoluted production is what gets in the way on this album — "Seekae on Close is headache-inducing in its attempt to subvert the standard pop song dynamic". We gave it three stars.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Tonight Alive — Limitless (Sony)

Limitless shows that previously-pigeonholed act Tonight Alive has more to give than just pop punk, merging it "with an electro-pop energy". There's a strong emphasis on power choruses "that reach arena proportions" and plenty of stylistic changes, "opening with three synth-heavy and harmony-loaded tracks". However, it's "the band's best release to date and is incredibly well rounded for such a sudden shift in sound'. We gave it three-and-a-half stars.

and the rest of the releases…

Accuser — The Forlorn Divide (Metal Blade Records/Rocket)
Amistat — Parley (MGM)
Anna Meredith — Varamints (Moshi Moshi/[PIAS] Australia)
Bazooka — Useless Generation (Mondo Mongo)
Ben Abraham — Sirens (Inertia)
Ben Winkelman — The Knife (Jazzhead)
Black Peaches — Get Down You Dirty Rascals (1965 Records/[PIAS] Australia)
Club Cheval — Discipline (Parlophone/Warner)
Columbia Buffet — How To Survive An Atomic Bomb (Independent)
Cub Sport — This Is Our Vice (Nettwerk/Inertia)
Day Wave — Hard To Read (I OH YOU)
Fluir — The Way (Independent)
Gabriella Cohen — Full Closure And No Details (Independent)
Guerilla Toss — Eraser Stargazer (DFA/[PIAS] Australia)
Hacktivist — Outside The Box (UNFD)
Hein Cooper  The Art Of Escape (Indica/MGM)
Heron Oblivion — Heron Oblivion (Sub Pop/Inertia)
Inverloch  Distance | Collapsed (Relapse/Rocket)
Josienne Clark & Ben Walker — Through The Clouds (Rough Trade/Inertia)
Kano — Made In Manor (Parlohone/Warner)
Lapsley — Long Way Home (XL/Remote Control)
M Ward More Rain (Bella Union/[PIAS] Australia)
Miasmal — Tides Of Omniscience (Century Media/Sony)
Miike Snow — iii (Atlantic/Warner)
Nada Surf — You Know Who You Are (Stop Start/Inertia)
Oceans Of Slumber — Winter (Century Media/Sony)
Paces — Vacation (etcetc)
Palehound  Dry Food (Heavenly Recordings/[PIAS] Recordings)
Polica  United Crushers (Pod/Inertia)
Ray LaMontagne — Ouroboros (RCA/Sony)
Thao & The Get Down Stay Down — A Man Alive (Domino/EMI)
The Black Queen — Fever Daydream (Independent)
The Knocks — 55 (Atlantic/Warner)
The Weeping Willows — Before Darkness Comes A-Callin' (Independent)
Throwing Shade — House Of Silk (Ninja Tune/Inertia)
Tiga No Fantasy Required (Counter/Onelove Recordings)
TOKiMONSTA — Fovere (Young Art Records)
Urthboy — The Past Beats Inside Me Like A Second Heartbeat (Elefant Traks/Inertia)
Violent Femmes — We Can Do Anything (Universal)
Wall Of Death — Loveland (Innovative Leisure)
Whitefall — Origins (Independent)
Wolvserpent — Aporia:Kala:Ananta (Relapse/Rocket)