Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

NEEDTOBREATHE Announce Release Date For New Album 'Caves'

21 July 2023 | 12:24 pm | Mary Varvaris

“This is the most ambitious record we’ve made in a really long time...”


NEEDTOBREATHE (Credit: David Od)

US rockers NEEDTOBREATHE have announced the release date for their forthcoming ninth album, Caves, on Friday, 15 September, via Drive All Night Records.

Since forming in 2001, NEEDTOBREATHE have steadily grown their Australian fanbase, visiting for a successful tour back in 2015. The band's single Brother with Gavin DeGraw made an impact down under (as well as cracking the Billboard Hot 100) before their 2016 album Hard Love had its ARIA Albums Chart Top 50 debut.

Their 2021 collaboration with Carrie Underwood, I Wanna Remember, saw them crack the Countrytown chart for the first time, showing their rock-meets-country crossover appeal. 

The album’s namesake is represented in the first single, The Cave, which you can check out below. The black and white music video finds NEEDTOBREATHE playing a modern rock track infused with country music elements, with singer Bear Rinehart commanding the song with his raspy, impassioned vocals.

As always, the guitar, drums, keyboards and bass bring incredible energy to The Cave, proving that new songs can still be powerful and vital no matter how far a band gets in their career. This one is guaranteed to be massive at the band’s shows; the high-scale energy makes this soul-searching track something special.

“Sometimes the things you’ve done in your career, the highs and lows that you’ve experienced, create a shadow that you just can’t break free from,” the band said in a statement. “In order to write new songs that still matter to people, we had to move away from the identity of what others think we are and into the freedom of who we are becoming.”

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

They continued, “We always believed we could make a record that would feel at home on the world’s biggest stages. It was important to us to prove that we could. This is the most ambitious record we’ve made in a really long time.”

Caves was written in two phases, post lockdowns and restrictions brought on by the Covid-19 pandemic. The first took place in Utah, where NEEDTOBREATHE finally reunited in person, and the second while they were on tour opening for OneRepublic.

NEEDTOBREATHE documented their journey to record Cave in the two-part film, A World Without A Mirror: The Making of CAVES. You can watch part one below.

You can pre-order/pre-save Caves here.


1. The Cave

2. Everknown

3. How Wonderful We Are

4. Dreams (ft. Judah & The Lion)

5. When You Forgive Someone

6. Wasting Time (ft. Old Dominion)

7. Fall On Me (ft. Carly Pearce)

8. Hideaway

9. By And By

10. Reaching Out To Find You

11. Temporary Tears (ft. Foy Vance)