'Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story' Documentary Soundtrack Revealed

15 June 2023 | 8:39 am | Mary Varvaris

The collection is notably all Australian, apart from two of Michael Gudinski’s favourite international acts.

Michael Gudinski & Ed Sheeran

Michael Gudinski & Ed Sheeran (Credit: Brian Purnell)

More Michael Gudinski More Michael Gudinski

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story, the first-ever feature-length documentary about the Australian music legend, will have its world premiere at Melbourne International Film Festival on Thursday, 10 August. The day after, the official soundtrack will be released (and surely climb up the ARIA charts in no time).

Featuring an abundance of bangers written and performed by artists on the Mushroom Group roster, the Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story soundtrack will include Kylie Minogue, Ed Sheeran (the first artist to sell a million tickets on one Australian tour when he toured for Michael Gudinski’s Frontier Touring in 2018), Garbage (who had a #1 UK album for Mushroom Records in 1998), and many more from all eras of Gudinski’s time in the music industry.

The soundtrack will also boast tracks by Jimmy Barnes, Archie Roach, and Hunters & Collectors through to Vance Joy, Bliss N Eso, Gordi and DMA’S. The collection is notably all Australian, apart from two of Michael Gudinski’s favourite international acts mentioned above.

The album contains 44 tracks by 33 different artists, and the film follows Gudinski’s unorthodox work patterns and undeniable resilience.

Ego is described as the definitive Michael Gudinski story that takes viewers on a journey through an all-too-rare behind-the-scenes look at Mushroom Group, and how that seminal independent music company shaped a cultural movement and soundtrack for a nation.

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story is touted to be a story of epic proportions and follows "the successes and failures that made the Mushroom Empire. The legacy is profound, and all captured in Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story.”

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

After the film premiere at Melbourne International Film Festival, Ego will move to Australian cinemas from 31 August. Check out the full soundtrack tracklist below.

Ego: The Michael Gudinski Story - Music From The Feature Documentary
Out Friday, 11 August, through Bloodlines
Pre-order here.
Disc One
 Models - I Hear Motion
 Daddy Cool - Come Back Again
 Matt Taylor - I Remember When I Was Young
 Billy Thorpe & The Aztecs - Most People I Know (Think That I'm Crazy) - Live from Sunbury
 Madder Lake - 12lb Toothbrush
 Skyhooks - Living in the 70's
 Skyhooks - Love's Not Good Enough
 Skyhooks - Horror Movie
 Skyhooks - Ego (Is Not A Dirty Word)
 Jo Jo Zep & The Falcons - Hit & Run
 The Swingers - Counting The Beat
 The Sports - Who Listens To The Radio
 The Angels - Take A Long Line (Live)
 Hunters & Collectors - The Slab
 Hunters & Collectors - Throw Your Arms Around Me
Disc Two
 Hunters & Collectors- Talking To A Stranger
 Paul Kelly - From St Kilda To Kings Cross
 Stars - Last Of The Riverboats
 Jimmy Barnes - I'd Die To Be With You Tonight
 Jimmy Barnes - No Second Prize
 Leonardo's Bride - Even When I'm Sleeping
 Machinations - Pressure Sway
 Kylie Minogue - The Loco-Motion
 Kylie Minogue - I Should Be So Lucky
 Archie Roach - Took The Children Away
 Yothu Yindi - Treaty (Radio Mix)
 Deborah Conway - It's Only The Beginning
 Garbage - Only Happy When It Rains
 Peter Andre - Mysterious Girl
Disc Three
 Cold Chisel - My Turn To Cry
 Renee Geyer - Heading In The Right Direction (Live)
 Bliss n Eso - Addicted
 Kylie Minogue - Can't Get You Out Of My Head
 The Temper Trap - Sweet Disposition
 Youth Group - Forever Young
 Vance Joy - Riptide
 Ed Sheeran - The A Team
 Ben Lee - We're All In This Together
 DMA'S - The Glow
 The Church - Under The Milky Way
 Gordi - Extraordinary Life
 Yothu Yindi - Djapana (Sunset Dreaming) (Radio Mix)
 Hunters & Collectors - Do You See What I See?
 Hunters & Collectors - Say Goodbye