Annual AMP Awards To Reveal Final Longlist

29 October 2015 | 3:53 pm | Staff Writer

The current longlist includes Courtney Barnett, Grenadiers, Methyl Ethel and more

As the 11th Australian Music Prize draws closer, the final longlist is set to be announced in the coming days.
Established in 2005, the aim of the AMP is to encourage excellence in Australian music by recognising and rewarding emerging local talent, with $30,000 in prize money up for grabs.
The awards have honoured notable Aussie artists over the years including The Jezebels, Big Scary, and most recently Remi. This year, you'll note serial-over-achiever Courtney Barnett on the list, along with Marlon Williams, High Tension and Hermitude.
Applicants are required to submit an email to detailing the artist name, album title, release date and an online link to where the judges can listen to the album.
The shortlist for the competition will be unveiled in January 2016, with the winner being announced in March 2016.
Check out the current list of longlisted applicants below: 
Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit
Daniel Johns – Talk
Daughter’s Fever – Daughter’s Fever
Dick Diver – Melbourne, Florida
Fuck The Fitzroy Doom Scene – Facing The Ruin
Grenadiers – Summer
Hermitude – Dark Night Sweet Light
High Tension – Bully
Jess Ribeiro – Kill It Yourself
Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Melanie Horsenell – Quatre Chemins
Methyl Ethel – Oh Inhuman Spectacle
Oh Mercy – When We Talk About Love
Oisima – Nicaragua Nights
Peter Biddy – Butcher/Hairstylist/Beautician
Pond – Man, It Feels Like Space Again
Rand and Holland – Rand and Holland
Szymon – Tigersapp
Royal Headache – High
Totally Mild – Downtime
The Apartments – No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal