New Animal Collective In August

15 May 2012 | 11:52 am | Dan Condon

US experimentalists announced tenth record Centipede Hz.

More Animal Collective More Animal Collective

Indie superstars Animal Collective have put an official end to their relative silence of the past couple of years and announced their tenth album Centipede Hz will be released on Friday 31 August through Domino/EMI.

The heavily experimental American band formed in 1999 but have been especially prolific in their time together, releasing six albums under a number of different names before signing to the Domino label for 2007's Strawberry Jam, their first breakthrough release.

But it was Merriweather Post Pavilion, released in the first week of 2009, which was the real crossover point for the band; the record ended up securing the number 12 position on the Billboard album charts and praised by many outlets as the finest album of 2009. Since the release of Merriweather Post Pavilion and ensuing tour cycle that went with it, the band has released a “visual album” called ODDSAC, as well as a number of singles, EPs and a live album, but Centipede Hz will be the first album proper for the band in over three-and-a-half years.

The album will be released in most international territories the following week.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Tracklist is as follows:

1. Moonjock
2. Today's Supernatural
3. Rosie Oh
4. Applesauce
5. Wide Eyed
6. Father Time
7. New Town Burnout
8. Monkey Riches
9. Mercury Man
10. Pulleys
11. Amanita

Check out a video introduction to the record from the band: