Alice Cooper Announces New Album 'Road' & Drops First Single 'I'm Alice'

15 June 2023 | 12:33 pm | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

A real old-school rock tune, Cooper reacquaints listeners with the road trip-ready 'I’m Alice'.

Alice Cooper

Alice Cooper (Credit: Jenny Risher)

More Alice Cooper More Alice Cooper

Iconic shock rocker Alice Cooper will release his 22nd solo album, Road, on Friday, 25 August. To tide fans over during the wait, he’s shared the first single, I’m Alice, which you can check out below.

A real old-school rock tune, Cooper reacquaints listeners with the road trip-ready I’m Alice. The new single and its music video is already receiving positive feedback from fans, with one on YouTube writing, “When he was in his 20s he was rockin in the 70s now hes in his 70s rockin in the 20s absolute legend”.

Cooper, a Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame inductee, teamed up with longtime collaborator and producer Bob Ezrin, with the album written, composed and recorded alongside his trusted bandmates – guitarists Nita Strauss and Ryan Roxie, bassist Chuck Garric, guitarist Tommy Henriksen, and drummer Glen Sobel.

“For Road, I wanted the band to be involved in the foundation of all the songs,” Cooper said in a statement. “I only see these guys when we’re on the road. So, I wanted them to be as tight as they are for the show but on all new material. When you have a band this good, I believe in showing it off, and this is my way of doing so.”

Fans can buy numerous physical copies of Road, with Cooper selling limited coloured vinyl editions, a box set, CD and CD/DVD (sold out), and CD/Blu-Ray which includes his full live show at Hellfest 2022. You can pre-order Road here.

In April, Cooper announced that he’s releasing deluxe, expanded reissues of two of his renowned 70s records, 1971’s Killer and 1972’s School’s Out.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The School’s Out vinyl arrives packed in non-flammable panties, with the outer packaging covered with a pop-up school desk.

School’s Out also comes with a previously unreleased live show in Miami in May 1972, and Studio Extras with alternate and single versions of the title track, Gutter Cat, Alma Mater, and an early demo of Elected.

Cooper’s set at Mar Y Sol Pop Festival in Puerto Rico from April 1972 is showcased on the Killer reissue, with alternate versions of You Drive Me Nervous, Under My Wheels, and Dead Babies featured on the release. Those reissues were released last Friday – you can order your copy here.


ROAD Tracklisting CD & 2LP

Side A:
 1. I’m Alice
 2. Welcome To The Show
 3. All Over The World

Side B:
 4. Dead Don’t Dance
 5. Go Away
 6. White Line Frankenstein

Side C:
 7. Big Boots
 8. Rules Of The Road
 9. The Big Goodbye

Side D:
 10. Road Rats Forever
 11. Baby Please Don’t Go
 12. 100 More Miles
 13. Magic Bus