Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Album Review: Letlive - 'Fake History'

12 March 2011 | 11:43 pm | Staff Writer
Originally Appeared In

A powerful, raw, aggressive post-hardcore album and hopefully a sign of a great future for this band.

More Letlive More Letlive

California’s Letlive are the newest addition to Epitaph Records, and a band who show great potential in their debut effort. Fake History is an explosive, irresistible and beautifully chaotic 14-track foray into the depths of post-hardcore, a genre Letlive have perfected so seamlessly.

Fake History is alive with emotive, raw screams, powerful riffs and thrashing drums. Frontman Jason Butler’s vocals are a divine mesh of extremes- harsh, chaotic screams that meld effortlessly into clean, emotive chorus vocals. Whilst violent and hard-hitting, the tracks on this album are downright catchy, largely due to the punchy riffs and fierce guitarwork of Jean Nascimento and Jeff Sahyoun.

Letlive do post-hardcore, and they do it well. But for lack of a better word, they can be a little boring. There is limited variation between tracks, and as a whole the album all feels very much the same, lacking in any major alternation and excitement. That said, there are a few great exceptions between the filler- “Homeless Jazz” has dance-inducing, jazzy undertone within its hardcore energy. “Muther” is perhaps the best track of the album, a powerful and emotive Thrice-reminiscent track. “Casino Columbus” will have you raging and dancing at the same time, with its fiercely irresistible chorus. If you can see past the boring elements of the album there are glimmers of innovation, catchy hooks and some incredible musicianship. Importantly, Fake History shows a band with great potential. Despite its shortcomings, Letlive show an evident maturity, and a potential to revive the slowly-dying state of post-hardcore since the glory days of bands like Glassjaw and Thursday.

Letlive are definitely a band to pay attention to. Fake History is a cohesive, powerful and aggressive album pulled off with finesse, and whilst nothing revolutionary, is definitely a sign of great things to come.

While nothing revolutionary, this is a raw, aggressive, and incredibly powerful post-hardcore album that is undeniably enjoyable. Hopefully a sign of a great future for this band.

1. Le Prologue
2. The Sick, Sick, 6.8 Billion
3. Renegade 86`
4. Enimigos/Enemies
5. Casino Columbus
6. Muther
7. Homeless Jazz
8. We, The Pros Of Con
9. H. Ledger
10. Over Being Under
11. Day 54