Album Review: Dream On, Dreamer - 'Songs Of Soulitude'

16 November 2015 | 12:22 pm | Alex Sievers
Originally Appeared In

Dream On, Dreamer keep up their consistent track record.

More Dream On, Dreamer More Dream On, Dreamer

At one point in time, Melbourne’s Dream On, Dreamer were considered to be just another “core” band, essentially another generic Rise Records-like band. Yet, there was always a sense of authenticity and positivity to the group's music, and this eventual music focused on some very uplifting notions. As years went by the band grew and matured, as most bands often do, and we eventually received, what this reviewer sees as being, the first truly great record from this band – 2013’s ‘Loveless’. Two years on from that stellar release and we have ‘Songs Of Soulitude’, which is yet another solid musical offering.

Sure, the music itself isn't anything new, but, as this reviewer always says, generic doesn't always equal bad. Unless it lacks conviction and heart, then yeah it's probably fucking bad. However, Dream On, Dreamer don't lack conviction or heart on this new album, as it just flows out in droves from the quintet. With some pretty hard-hitting riffs and drumming filling out the verses, to the huge choruses and those dynamic, atmospheric bridges; this full-length will be both familiar to many but still an immensely enjoyable listen. Screamer Marcel Gadacz still has those throaty, passionate screams and bassist/clean singer Zachary Britt (who is also the vocalist for Young Lions) has such a strong character to his already prominent voice. Kind of like The Amity Affliction's Ahren Stringer sounded pre 'Chasing Ghosts', before they just utterly destroyed his vocals with layering and auto-tune. Moving swiftly on, while the band still adheres to the scream/sing/scream formula the genre is known, there's a strong emotional chord of personal struggle and growth running through the lyrics that gives some real weight to the songs. Oh, and the band's song-writing is still as solid as ever so don't fret there fans.

Now, the record itself kicks off with the dark, pumping  'Souls Of Fire', which is a classic mix of Dreamer's sounds; heavy verses and soaring choruses, all brimming with passion and honesty, and the record closes with the acoustic 'Violent Pictures'. One would be hard pressed to find any really noticeable and/or glaring flaws within the collection of tracks. Well, maybe with the exception of the fact that there's still some of that formula embedded in their sound, but at the end of the day, that's just the genre they're in, and they are unlikely to suddenly become a pop-punk band. With that being said, these are some of the heaviest as well as the most beautiful (and touching) songs the quintet have ever written, and the record flows so seamless that you're in for an uninterrupted 35 minute listen.

There are two songs that really standout. While 'Malice' has one truly punchy chorus and is easily one of the band's heavier, but nonetheless melodic, examples (along with 'Vertigo' or 'Innocence' of course), what caps the record off is right after - the delicate and incredibly beautiful 'Snowpiercer', a standout track that could become the best set closer in the band's whole catalogue. That brings us to what is really one this album's best achievements; the dynamic peaks and troughs that the record flows between creates the best kind of contrast, making for a diverse and powerful album.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Look, if you had told this writer that 'Songs Of Soulitude' would be an album released by Dream On, Dreamer he probably would have just laughed in your smug fucking face but to actually have it now, in this final form, is just surreal. Truly surreal.

This album seems to be Dream On, Dreamer beginning to step out of their comfort zone. While it's not a wholly new sound, it's a more mature and improved one, both in how the songs flow and how the mixes themselves sound. What it achieves is helping Dreamer to stand out from the metalcore/post-hardcore pack that little bit more. So even without any major label support this time, it's safe to say that Dreamer will be doing fine with a record like 'Songs Of Soulitude' going into 2016.


1. Souls of Fire

2. Vertigo

3. Society Of Anxiety

4. Malice

5. Snowpiercer

6. Innocence

7. Delirium

8. Open Sun

9. Pariah

10. Violent Pictures