Album Review: All Human - 'Teenagers, You Don’t Have To Die'

5 April 2016 | 2:40 pm | Alex Sievers
Originally Appeared In

This is one weird and niche album, and good God, do we fucking love it.

More All Human More All Human

Adam Fisher and Brian Ferrara are the two big brains behind All Human, a very odd band that we struggle to describe, but we'll try in the briefest amount of time. Okay, here it goes. At best, they are a progressive band from the US of A with elements of electronica, atmospheric/ambient post-rock, instrumental music, rock and indie, with absolutely zero care for genre conventions. Plus, they carry a melancholic side that could drown the listeners out there in tears. Phew.

Now, straight up, this duo’s new album ‘Teenagers, You Don’t Have To Die’ is a truly exceptional record and a truly odd and diverse one at that. But seriously, where do we even begin with this one?

The hymn-like opener of ‘Let Me Be Your Mutt’ is just captivating, ‘Don't Come Home’ is a deadly honest acoustic jam, while the dark post-hardcore anthem of ‘Where’s My Upslope?’ is chilling. Similarly, the haunting ‘Night Swimmer (Camp Ohio)’ is just heartbreaking, and then there’s the ominous and bluesy ‘Even The Dogs Stare; each song is just so bloody different from the last and it's admirable how the band weaves in and out between different styles but in a tasteful and potent way. Hell, even the instrumental songs like ‘Let's Step Outside And See What Explodes’ and ‘Don’t Ever Get Sad or The World Will Kill Your Best Friend‘ (Best. Song. Title. Ever.) are fucking excellent, too.

As we said above, each song is very different from the last, but it’s not just the variation in the instrumentation but also in the timbre, the song mixes themselves and the emotions that each track summons within the listener. If we had to pick a few select cuts that we insist you check out, we would say the eerie and surreal ‘Desert Fox Cubs Play Under A Sky Full Of Stars’, ‘Night Swimmer (Camp Ohio)‘ and finally, the surging ‘And So Peter Dances‘. If those songs do not grab you instantly or, at the very least, peak your interest in this band and album, then you are simply dead to us. Sorry, not sorry.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

With 17 songs and a total run time of about 55 minutes, there aren't any real pitfalls to be found as each song is just so engaging and different, which is an achievement unto itself, and considering that a lot of outside musicians were brought in to help out on this record, it still feels so genuine. There is a huge amount of music to enjoy, digest and ponder over here that if we don’t stop now then this review will never bloody end!

For all of the chop and change between the different styles and sounds, All Human are insanely consistent on this new record - one that puts so many other releases to shame. Of course, talent alone only goes so far but the songwriting here is truly second to none and these songs are what happens when a band has no care for genre restrictions and has total and complete creativity freedom. 17 songs of pure progressive musical bliss. If you like something that is well and truly off the beaten path, then All Human are indeed the band for you.

1.Let Me Be Your Mutt

2. And So Peter Dances

3. Headless Friends

4. Where's My Upslope?

5. Let's Step Outside and See What Explodes

6. Even the Dogs Stare

7. A Healthy Fear of Women

8. Desert Fox Cubs Play Under a Sky Full of Stars

9. Night Swimmer (Camp Ohio)

10. I'm Afraid

11. Don't Come Home

12. Sad Little World

13. Asleep on the Church Steps

14. Don't Ever Get Sad or the World Will Kill Your Best Friend

15. Rogue Bee

16. Everyone That You Love is an Insect Now

17. In a Pig