WAM Song Of The Year Nominees Announced

7 September 2012 | 11:51 am | Dan Condon

This year sees 80 nominees across 16 different categories.

The nominees for this year's WAM Song Of The Year awards have been announced this morning, as well as the details of the ceremony during which the winners will be announced.

There are 16 different categories for this year's awards, spanning everything from experimental to love songs, to mentally healthy songs and school age awards, as well as the more traditional genre specific categories. Over 80 different songs have been nominated in 2012.

The awards will be presented in a special ceremony, which is open to the public, and being held at the Fly By Night Musicians' Club on Thursday 11 October. Hosting the evening's proceedings will be 96FM's Darren de Mello, while Eskimo Joe's Kav Temperley will be in attendance and punters will be treated to live performances by 2011 Song of the Year Grand Prize winner Timothy Nelson & The Infidels, as well as Yabu Band, Kucka and Boom! Bap! Pow!

You can grab tickets right now from the venue for $23.50 + bf or, if there are any available, on the night for $28.50.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

All of the nominees are below.

Blues & Roots

Sponsored by Clancy's Fish Pub

Bitter Tears by John Read
Driller by Dilip 'n the Davs
Kimberley Moon
by Matt Cal
My Baby Must Be Blind
by Mister & Sunbird
Too Much Information
by Ego Libido


Sponsored by Boyup Brook Country Music Club

Banged Up by Polly Medlen Band
I Won't Be Too Far Behind by Jonny Taylor
Love Songs by Wes Snowball
Shifting Sands by David Hyams and The Miles To Go Band
Take Me Home by The Ghost Hotel


Sponsored by Qwartz Electronic Music Awards

Mollusc by TheIntensoBand
(serialkillersundays) by Kucka
by Cycle~440
by Christopher de Groot
Zip Up Jacket Combination Lock
by TheIntensoBand



Electronic / Dance

Sponsored by SAE Institute

Blanket by DeadCollection
by Ylem
by Ylem
Swim (Winter Sleep Rework)
by Lilt
We are Home Again
by The Brow Horn Orchestra




Sponsored by Lang Studios & Manticore Productions

Bury The King by Goat
Honorary Member of The First High Society by Castle Bravo
Never Sleep Again by Chainsaw Hookers
Sleazebag by Sleepfreak
Walk Away by The Sixth Extinction



Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival

Blue Stranger by OZ Island
Born on the River by Jake and the Cowboys
Crash by Jake and the Cowboys
Petrol Paint & Glue by Yabu Band
Some Boy by Baby Kool



Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club

Fade Away by Rick Webster
by Abbey/Foster/Falle
by Tal Cohen Quartet
The Busker
by Chris Foster Trio
There's More Fish in the Sea
by Tal Cohen Quartet



Sponsored by WAM

Aimee by Rainy Day Women
Driftwood by Helen Shanahan
Falling Outta Love by Sugarpuss
I'll Tell The Water of You by Warning Birds
Priority Tree by Patient Little Sister


Sponsored by the City of South Perth

Connect Five by Sheryn Binks
Don't You Forget
by Jake and the Cowboys
by Bastian's Happy Flight
Sing It
by The Ghost Hotel
Sleigh Bed
by Rainy Day Women



Mentally Healthy

Sponsored by the Mental Health Commission WA

Grey Days by Kris Kingwell
Milliner's Song by Claire Moodie
Talk About It by Slackjaw
That Makes You Feel Better by Dave Taylor & The Groove Unit
Petrol Paint & Glue by Yabu Band



Sponsored by Hertz

Brighter Than You Feel by Jonny Taylor
Colour Me Real
by Reverend & The Deathbed Conversions
by Jude Iddison
Heart of a Lion
by Codie Sundstrom
Need A Little Love by David Taylor and The Groove Unit


Schools - 14 Years & Under

Sponsored by AMEB

Fly by Sophie Costello
Inside and Out by Lucinda Nicholls
Please by Zoe Roberts
Sinking Ships by Brittany Freeman
We Shall Not Fall by Splinta


Sponsored by APRA | AMCOS

7 by The Shallows
by Harlequin League
Nothing Left To Prove
by Patient Little Sister
by Husband
Take Me Home
by The Ghost Hotel


Urban / Hip Hop

Sponsored by Headspace

Affirm Your Masculinity by Andrew Horabin
High Life by Slackman
Jobbed by FG featuring Wisdom2th
The Ego-dystonic Blues by FG
Worldstop by FG

World / Folk

Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival

Afro Sega by Grace Barbe Afro-Kreol
Isfahan by Daramad
Jump by Spoonful of Sugar
Mother's Petunias by Brayden Sibbald
Old Brown Piano by Rachel & Henry Climb a Hill


Schools - 15 to 17 Years

Sponsored by City of Wanneroo

Apple & The Worm by Brayden Sibbald
Bumpy Ride by Jennifer Renee Hannam
I Think I've Got You by Morgan Bain
Megalomaniac by Codie Sundstrom
Somebody Else by Julia Nicholls