WAM Song Of The Year Nominees Announced

11 March 2016 | 9:10 am | Staff Writer

Check out the full list here

Ahead of next month's WAM Song Of The Year awards, the full list of nominees have been announced which cover all genres, spanning across 16 categories.

Leading this year's nominations is Joni In The Moon with four nominations, while artists including Chaos Divine, Figurehead, Brayden Sibbald, Eastwinds and many more have all scored nods. 

While all 16 category winners will walk away with $500 cash and free recording at WA's best studios, this year's Song Of The Year grand prize winner will pick up $3000 cash, recording time at Sydney's Albert Studios, a RODE Microphones package, the opportunity for a publishing and sync licensing deal with Perfect Pitch Publishing, an online tutorial in publishing and licensing, the opportunity to perform at the WA Music Award-nominated State Of The Art Festival this year and a guaranteed spot on the 2016 WAM Festival line-up, plus so much more.

The winners will be announced at the WAM Song Of The Year Awards Party to be held on Saturday, 9 April at Fremantle's B-Shed warehouse. 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Check out all the categories and nominees below and for more details, click here


Jordan McRobbie — The Ascension

Karlin Page — Lonely Night

Katie J White River

Katie JWhite Warrior

Tracey BarnettListen To The Earth


David MercyWonders Never Cease

Fred RyanIt Must Have Been Good

Helen TownsendStreets Of Glory

Lynn Hazelton — Melita Station

Pete Byfield — Ashes


Joni In The MoonTarantella

Joni In The MoonWar and Porn

Lilt Don't Tell Me

Mining Tax — Footy

Tobacco Rat — Trenchtown 2020


Intenso — China

Intenso — 5 Days, 11 Hours, 7 Mins

Safe Sex — Cut You

Tangled Thoughts of Leaving — Shaking Off Futility

Usurper of Modern Medicine — Be Ready


Chad Blondel — Homme

Galloping Foxleys — My Love Affair With Archer

Lucy Peach Be So Good

Mitchell Martin — Hold On

Riley Pearce — Brave


Chaos Divine — Badge Of Honour

Chaos Divine — Landmines

Förstöra — One Last Stand

Scalphunter — Bleeding Out

Tangled Thoughts of Leaving — The Albanian Sleepover (Part One)


Abbey | Foster | FalleAt Long Last

Ben Matthews — The Process

Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group — Pius Bartosik

Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group — Guapeo

MFG — Requiem

outstanding indigenous

Beni Bjah — Survivors

Doreen Pensio and Band — Changes

Jake & The Cowboys — She Said

Selekt Few — On Country

TERA — Belly Of The Beast

outstanding regional

Brayden Sibbald — Restless

Brayden Sibbald — Maybe I Was Small

FINGERS Mitchell Cullen — Didge It

Kris Nelson — Favourite Regret

Valentine — Vampire


Bri Clark — Shiver

Joni In The Moon — Tarantella

Joni In The Moon — War And Porn

The Tommyhawks — Hollow

Valentine — Vampire


Blindspot — You're So Phoney

Foam — Four Men Enter A Room

Nerve Quakes — Meliorism

Nerve Quakes — Monarch

Scalphunter — Best Of Me


Pat Chow — Bad Thoughts

Ragdoll — Rewind Your Mind

Rag n' Bone — Death Rattle Waltz

The Methamphetaqueens — Girl That I'm Into

The High Learys — Letters To Alice

schools 14 & under

Karanina — Make A Wish

Karanina — New Summer

Madi Henry — Stronger

Madi Henry — Monster

Truth — Doubt

schools 15-17

Charlotte Viney — With You

Figurehead — Blind

Figurehead — No Sleep

Michael Waller — As Time Goes By

Puzzle — Winter

urban/hip hop

Bluntfield and Billy Harris — The Dark Crystal

Marksman Lloyd — Pause (Feat. Coin Banks & Nic Di Lena) (Prod. Sable)

Safe Sex — Soup

TERA — Belly Of The Beast

The Brow — Mantra


Alon Shimon Shai-Kaspi — Roni Levi

Eastwinds Blame Lulu Peanuts — Metsahällilaul

Eastwinds — Chakwe

Juliana Areias — Mare Cheia (Full Tide)

Juliana Areias — Flecha (Arrow)