Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Sydney's To The Grave Release Monstrous New Single

24 January 2023 | 10:48 am | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

"Cut Off The Head is our commentary on the current state of heavy music from our perspectives..."

(Source: Supplied)

More To The Grave More To The Grave

Sydney deathcore outfit To The Grave have returned with a third single from their upcoming album, Director's Cuts, out on 24 February.

Brutal new track Cut Off The Head finds the band disenfranchised with the scene around them, commenting, "Cut Off The Head is our commentary on the current state of heavy music from our perspectives. 

"Too many people use their "fame" to inflict harm on others, from shitty business practices and bullying within the scene through to taking advantage of and assaulting fans. We’re sick of our art and expression being connected to the actions of these people simply by existing in the same genres. They deserve everything they have coming to them."

Director’s Cuts will be released via Unique Leader Records and explores the band’s unwavering commitment to animal rights and environmental responsibility. The record follows from their 2019 debut album Global Warning and 2021’s Epilogue.

Vocalist Dane Evans delivers a typically intense performance alongside brutally heavy riffs and breakdowns. The band said about the album, "This is the refinement of our combined musical tastes, fuelled by our sadness and anger at the state of the world. 

"We made the music we wanted to make without really considering how it would fit into any little genre boxes, because we knew if we loved it completely then everyone else would too. These songs are hard and heavy without being technical just for the sake of it."

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Director’s Cuts was recorded by bassist Matt Clarke, with drums recorded live at The Brain Studios in Sydney and mixed and mastered by Lance Prenc at Prenc Audio (Void of Vision, Alpha Wolf, Polaris) in Melbourne with album photography by Animals Uncovered.  

The Sydney group recently performed at Good Things Festival and have decimated live audiences with Parkway Drive, Polaris, Cattle Decapitation, Thy Art Is Murder, Vulvodynia and Alpha Wolf. Pre-order Director's Cuts here.

Director's Cuts Tracklist:

01. Warning Shot
02. Red Dot Sight
03. Full Sequence
04. B.D.T.S.
05. Protest & Sever (feat. Sam Crocker - Antagonist AD)
06. Manhunt
07. Found Footage
08. Axe of Kindness
09. Reversing The Bear Trap (feat. Jess Christiansen - Bled Out)
10. Cut Off The Head
11. Die, Rise