Long Way To The Top Returns

6 August 2012 | 10:42 am | Celline Narinli

Ian Moss pays tribute to Billy Thorpe alongside legends Russell Morriss, Mi-Sex, Spectrum and John Paul Young.

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of the hugely successful Long Way To The Top music documentary series' spin-off concert tour, 17 Australian musicians from the '60s, '70s and '80s will reunite to take the rock extravaganza back on the road for the Long Way To The Top 10th Anniversary Tour.

Touring along the east coast of Australia, the line-up will feature Axiom, Brian Cadd, Dragon, Marcia Hines, Col Joye, Masters Apprentices'Jim Keays, Dinah Lee, Mi-Sex, Russell Morris, Ian Moss, Noiseworks, Doug Parkinson, Little Pattie, Glenn Shorrock, Spectrum, Lucky Starr, Chain's Matt Taylor & Phil Manning and John Paul Young.

Following the success of the 2002 tour - which showcased music released right up to the '70s - the reunion tour will celebrate Australian live music up to and including the '80s and will also act as a performance legacy to one of its producers, the late Billy Thorpe, who sadly passed away in 2007.

“Billy Thorpe was an icon, a freakishly talented bloke who had a huge impact on music history in this country,” says Michael Chugg.

“We miss him terribly and this reunion tour of A Long Way To The Top was a good opportunity to recognize the man, the musician and our mate. We've brought Ian Moss on board to perform this special part of the show. How we are going to re-create 'Billy in the room' is a moment not to be missed.”

Full tour details are below.