Holding Absence Drop New Single & Announce Album 'The Noble Art Of Self Destruction'

23 May 2023 | 4:24 pm | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

The Noble Art Of Self Destruction is due for release on Friday, 25 August, via Sharptone Records.

Photo of Holding Absence

Photo of Holding Absence (Source: Supplied)

More Holding Absence More Holding Absence

Welsh metalcore outfit Holding Absence just dropped a new single, False Dawn, and announced their new album, The Noble Art Of Self Destruction, due for release on Friday, 25 August, via Sharptone Records.

The band commented about their upcoming third album in a press release, "Today, we are pleased to announce the third Holding Absence album 'The Noble Art Of Self-Destruction' will be released on August 25th 2023!

“After an insanely busy and fulfilling album cycle for our second record, last October we spent a month in Jukasa Studios Canada, to record more new music. This record - the third in a trilogy - is by far our most conceptually rich and expansive body of work to date." The album was recorded with Dan Weller, known for his work with Enter Shikari and Bury Tomorrow.

They added, “We feel like these songs are almost a love letter to everything Holding Absence, and can't wait to show everybody just how much space we have managed to cover, and how hard we were able to push ourselves with these songs."

On a note about the supremely catchy False Dawn, they added: "We are ecstatic to be dropping our brand new single 'False Dawn' today. This is definitely a personal favourite for all of us on the record! A somewhat defeatist song about denouncing expectations, and coming to grips with failure - this song is a quintessential Holding Absence song, with it's uptempo energy and downtrodden introspection. We hope you enjoy!"

Check out the music video below and pre-order The Noble Art Of Self Destruction here.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Last year, Holding Absence joined fellow Sharptone/Greyscale label mates in Aussies Alpha Wolf on a thrilling split EP release, The Lost And The LongingThe collaboration also allowed the Welshmen to mine their heaviest depths to date.

"We can't wait for people to hear our two new singles Aching Longing, and Coffin too,” Holding Absence commented in a statement. 

"Aching Longing is our band at its heaviest yet, and Coffin is on the complete opposite side of the spectrum. We are always trying to stretch our band into new shapes, and can't wait for people to hear what we've produced with these two tracks!" 

 01. Head Prison Blues
 02. A Crooked Melody
 03. False Dawn
 04. Scissors
 05. Honey Moon
 06. Death, Nonetheless
 07. Her Wings
 08. These New Dreams
 09. Liminal
 10. The Angel In The Marble