Highasakite Unveil Release Details For Upcoming Second Album 'Camp Echo'

10 February 2016 | 5:00 pm | Staff Writer

The Norwegian indie-pop darlings have revealed all on their eagerly awaited follow-up to 2014's 'Silent Treatment'

More Highasakite More Highasakite

Norwegian indie-pop sensations Highasakite have announced details of their upcoming second LP Camp Echo, due for release in just a matter of months via Caroline Australia.

The group have made waves in Australia with their songs on high rotation on triple j with their song Since Last Wednesday hitting number 78 in the 2014 Hottest 100.

They also recently toured the country to great acclaim as part of the 2015 St Jerome's Laneway Festival line-up.

Highasakite already gave us a delicious taste of Camp Echo earlier this year with their single Someone Who'll Get It, but now there's a bunch more information to mull over before the album's release this May.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Though not an overtly political album, Camp Echo is influenced by the realities and horrors of war. One of the songs repersents a 'tribute' to George W. Bush while another song is inspired by ex-marine Grant Collins who served in Iraq from August 2004 to May 2005. In fact, the album's title is even taken from the name of a detention camp at the infamous Guantanamo Bay facility.

Vocalist Ingrid Håvik has said that the forthcoming album isn't about pushing anyone toward a political philosophy but more about how war has been central in her mindset for a number of years.

"There are not many love songs on the album," Håvik said in a statement. "Because I haven't been in that state of mind for a long time.

"Global warming and war have been my main concern."

Camp Echo will be released on Friday 20 May through Caroline. Pre-orders will be available from 12 February, but you can bask in the track list and album art below.

highasakite — Camp Echo 
Track list

1. My Name Is Liar

2. Samurai Swords

3. Someone Who'll Get It

4. My Mind Is A Bad Neighborhood

5. God Don’t Leave Me

6. I Am My Own Disease

7. Golden Ticket

8. Deep Sea Diver

9. Chernobyl