Explosions In The Sky Unveil New Album Details & Preview Track

12 January 2016 | 3:19 pm | Staff Writer

The Texan post-rock pioneers will return this April with their seventh studio full-length

More Explosions In The Sky More Explosions In The Sky

Texas-bred post-rock titans Explosions In The Sky have announced a worldwide release date for their eagerly awaited seventh studio full-length, The Wilderness, using the opportunity to provide a first taste from the new work in the form of fresh cut Disintegration Anxiety.

The Wilderness is the band's first studio album since 2011's Take Care, Take Care, Take Care — although they have released three cinematic soundtracks in the intervening years — and will be available for purchase physically and digitally around the world from 1 April, locally via Spunk Records.

The new work marks a first for the outfit, being their only record to date to not be produced in its entirety by the members, instead bringing on-board long-time collaborator and Grammy-winning producer John Congleton as co-producer. Somewhat unsurprisingly, the album — if Disintegration Anxiety itself is anything to go by — stands to be one of the most sonically ambitious, experimental and meticulously crafted Explosions In The Sky albums yet, drawing on their lengthy history at the forefront of the instrumental-rock movement and injecting their sounds with a renewed sense of purpose, cinematic scope and aggressive progression.

Give Disintegration Anxiety a spin below. You already know the words!

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The Wilderness is available for pre-order now, and includes Disintegration Anxiety as an instant grat download. Go forth and lock it in.

the wilderness: art and track list

1. Wilderness

2. The Ecstatics

3. Tangle Formations

4. Logic Of A Dream

5. Disintegration Anxiety

6. Losing The Light

7. Infinite Orbit

8. Colors In Space

9. Landing Cliffs