Three New Appointments Announce For Sound NSW Board

29 February 2024 | 9:58 am | Mary Varvaris

“Working together with industry, Sound NSW will help the government to move the dial on our commitment to support the venues that sustain and grow our music industry.”

Meniscus @ Crowbar Sydney

Meniscus @ Crowbar Sydney (Credit: Brendan Delavere)

Three new appointments have been added to the Sound NSW board, with the organisation holding its first-ever advisory board meeting of representatives from a cross-section of the music industry.

The 12-member Sound NSW board is now complete, adding three new members: Executive Producer of the Electronic Music Conference, Jane Slingo, musician Kristy Peters (better known as KLP), and FBi Radio’s Tanya Ali. With its twelve members, led by Head of Sound NSW Emily Collins, the board is set to deliver a ten-year Contemporary Music Strategy.

As well as the ten-year Contemporary Music Strategy, Sound NSW will bring on new policies and funding programs, including soundproofing live music venues to counter noise complaints dragging music venues down.

Later this year, Sound NSW will conduct research into the state’s live music ecosystem, with results due to be shared by mid-2024.

Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy John Graham said about today’s announcement, “Through Sound NSW, the music industry has a dedicated Government office committed to the development and promotion of contemporary music in NSW.

“Working together with industry, Sound NSW will help the government to move the dial on our commitment to support the venues that sustain and grow our music industry.”

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Praising the board of “nationally significant leaders from across the music industry” and name-dropping Collins, Graham continued, “Work is underway to deliver on our election commitment to double live music venues and support contemporary music in NSW.

“Sound NSW has been given the direction to champion and invest in the contemporary music sector to deliver positive outcomes for artists and audiences alike through targeted programs and advocacy.”

Emily Collins added, “It is an exciting time for Sound NSW as we really start to break our stride and deliver on our priorities”, which include nurturing creative careers, encouraging innovation, increasing export opportunities, and creating “positive outcomes for artists, industry professionals, music businesses, and audiences.”

“With a new Sound NSW team in place, an Advisory Board of music experts and the support of the Government, NSW is on track to become a global music powerhouse and a thriving heartland for our national industry,” Collins said.

The Complete Sound NSW Advisory Board:

  • Vyvienne Abla, Director, 4E Hip Hop Festival

  • Tanya Ali Managing Director, FBi Radio

  • Tyla Dombroski, Director, Crowbar Sydney

  • Jessica Ducrou (Chair), co-CEO, Secret Sounds

  • Annabelle Herd, CEO ARIA and PPCA

  • Matthew Jeffrey, Delegate, Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance

  • Lucy Joseph, Live and Local Program Manager, Live Music Office

  • Tim Leha, Independent Indigenous media specialist

  • Dean Ormston, CEO, APRA AMCOS

  • Kristy Lee Peters, Musician/DJ, KLP

  • Jane Slingo, Executive Producer, Electronic Music Conference

  • John Watson (Deputy Chair), founder and president of John Watson Management and Eleven: A Music Company