PREMIERE: Play It Safe - Original Soundtrack

30 March 2016 | 2:10 pm | Staff Writer

More Various Artists More Various Artists

We've been keen supporters of Aussie indie flick Play It Safe since it first popped up on our radar in August last year, promising not only a fantastically honest look at the struggles facing young artists and musicians attempting to make it in these oversupplied times but a killer soundtrack to boot.

The Music is stoked to be able to premiere said soundtrack today, featuring tracks from a ream of impressive Melbourne musicians including Big ScarySpeed Painters, Polo ClubYes/No/MaybePatinka Cha Cha and Villains, among several others. It boasts 21 tracks and runs for over an hour, taking in several songs — Herc Protect UsTake My ChancesCode Red — credited to a band called Propaganda Machine, the fictional group featured in the film and manned by Mantra (vocals), Nathan Liow (keys), Jeremy Hopkins (drums) and Alex Yeap (bass).

The film, directed by first-time feature-maker Chris Pahlow, had its world premiere in Melbourne back in September, earning rave reviews in its wake for its monochromatic style, story and cast, which includes talented thespians Nicholas KatoMaya AleksandraChristine LiuAlasdair Tremblay-BirchallSpencer GigaczKane Felsinger and many more.

Play It Safe is out now, available to rent for $3.95 or purchase from $9.95. Check out the trailer below and see the film's website for more information.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter