WAMi Winners Announced For 2012

4 June 2012 | 12:57 pm | Scott Fitzsimons

The Drum Media Perth's editor picked up this year's Media Award.

The 2012 WAMi Awards were held on Saturday as a closing party for this year's WAMi Festival. A good old knees-up for Perth, San Cisco came away with a number of awards, including Most Popular Group, Single, Music Video, EP/Album and the 2012 Breakthrough Act - all voted by the public.

There were plenty of wins for Abbe May and band as well whileThe Drum Media's editorAarom Wilson won the 2012 Media Individual Award (Drum Media is published by theMusic.com.au's publisher).

The full list of winners are below:

Public Voted Awards:

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Most Popular Group: San Cisco
Most Popular Live Act: Abbe May
Most Popular Solo Artist: Abbe May
Most Popular Music Website: FasterLouder
2012 Breakthrough Act: San Cisco
Most Popular Music Venue: The Bakery
Most Popular Singe: San Cisco - Awkward
Most Popular Music Video: San Cisco - Awkward
Most Popular Album/EP: San Cisco - Awkward EP
Most Popular Music Event: RTRFM's In The Pines

Industry Voted Awards:

Most Promising New Act: Sonpsilo Circus
Rock Act: Abbe May
Pop Act: San Cisco
Experimental Act: Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving/Usurper Of Modern Medicine (category tied)
Hardocre Punk Act: Project Mayhem
Metal Act: Drowning Horse
Blues Act: Abbe May
Folk Act: Ruby Boots
Acoustic Roots Act: Ruby Boots
Funk Act: Brow Horn Orchestra
Jazz Act: Jack Doepel Quartet
Hip Hop Act: Mathas
Dance/Electronic Act: Voltaire Twins
Country Music Act: Ruby Boots
World Music Act: Grace Barbé
Indigenous Artist: Yabu Band
WA Record Label Of The Year: Spinning Top Records
2012 Media Award - Individual: Aarom Wilson (The Drum Media)
2012 Media Award - Organisation: RTRFM
2012 Management Award: Phil Stevens
Golden WAMi: Dave Cutbush

Craft Awards:

Live Sound Engineer: Stu McLaughlin
Recording Engineer: Dave Parkin
Guitarist: Doug May (Abbe May, The Fags)
Bassist: Nick Gardener (San Cisco)
Drummer/Percussionist: Scarlett Stevens (San Cisco)
Keys/Synth: Jack Doepel (Voltaire Twins, Bastian's Happy Flight, MmHmmm)
Multi Instrumentalist: Todd Pickett (Davey Craddock & The Spectacles, The Kill Devil Hills)
Male Vocalist: Sean Pollard (Split Seconds)
Female Vocalist: Abbe May
Electronic Producer: Diger Rokwell
DJ: Rok Riley