Regurgitator Announce New Album 'Invader'

15 March 2024 | 9:59 am | Mary Varvaris

'Invader' has been described as “a wildly swinging tightrope of maturity and immaturity balanced on the edge of anything”.


Regurgitator (Credit: Neil Prieto)

More Regurgitator More Regurgitator

Regurgitator have announced the release of their tenth album, Invader, due for release on Friday, 26 April, via ABC Music / Valve Records.

The album announcement arrives with a wacky new single, This Is Not A Pop Song, featuring Canadian musician Peaches. This Is Not A Pop Song lives up to its namesake, following the band and their collaborator as they contrast Quan Yeomans’ unusual vocal stylings against groovy bass lines and punk-inspired guitars. Check out the single below.

Peaches said about the collaboration in a press release, “Excited to be a part of this non-sensical not pop but pop gold!”

In addition to This Is Not A Pop Song, Regurgitator have lined up collaborations with JK47 and Tyson Yunkaporta on the tracks Dirty Old Men and The Bastard Poem That Nobody Wanted, respectively. The album tracklist can be found below.

Regurgitator started working on Invader two years ago. In a statement, Yeomans described the new album as “a fleeting reflection in the surface film of a small bubble floating through the psychotic dreamworld of the colony”.

Valve Records/Consume’s Paul Curtis also shared a statement detailing the 30 years of working with Regurgitator.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Calling himself the band’s biggest fan and maybe their harshest critic, Curtis said, “We have journeyed far and wide together... going on the road and seeing maybe 90% of the thousand plus shows they have played... one might just figure I am their biggest fan... maybe even their harshest critic.”

Curtis said the band is “brimming with a zest and drive I have not witnessed before”, seeing them “consumed with a musical sensibility, awareness and comprehension that has brought them to the outright confidence of Invader.”

The album has been described as “a wildly swinging tightrope of maturity and immaturity balanced on the edge of anything”, with Curtis “reeling” watching their self-belief and career-defining moves on this album and recent tours.

Curtis added, “They have found their mountain and stand tall like the trees that crown it. I feel immense privilege to have forged a distinct pathway together unshackled from the infection of tyrannous capitalism, wandering our free minded way through the ragged tracks of creativity just falling to this inevitable high point. Enough of the hype Paul why don’t ya!”

You can pre-order/pre-save Invader here.

Regurgitator will release their latest album ahead of their upcoming It’s So Invasive national tour this May and June, where they’ll be joined by special guests Party Dozen, The Subculture Clique, Displeasure, Monster Zoku Onsomb, and Cry Club.

The expansive tour sees Regurgitator head to Forth, Launceston, Geelong, Castlemaine, Melbourne, Margaret River, Perth, Fremantle, Wollongong, Newcastle, Sydney, Adelaide, Canberra, Albury, Byron Bay, Gold Coast, Brisbane, Mackay, Townsville and wraps up in Cairns.

You can find your tickets here.

Regurgitator – Invader Tracklisting

1. Cocaine Runaway

2. Pest

3. This Is Not A Pop Song feat. Peaches

4. Australiyeah

5. Epic

6. That's Not Nermal

7. Content

8. The Bastard Poem That Nobody Wanted feat. Tyson Yunkaporta


10. The Edge Of Losing it

11. Dirty Old Men feat. JK47

12. Pee Pee Man

13. Wrong People

14. Tsunami