Peter Gabriel Drops First New Album Of New Material In 21 Years, 'I/O'

2 December 2023 | 11:59 am | Mary Varvaris

An album released 30 years in the making, 'i/o', follows a year in which Peter Gabriel steadily released new songs on each full moon.

Peter Gabriel

Peter Gabriel (Credit: Nadav Kander)

Legendary English musician Peter Gabriel is back with his first album of new material in 21 years, i/o.

An album released 30 years in the making, i/o, follows a year in which Gabriel steadily released new songs on each full moon.

The twelve songs were recorded primarily at Gabriel’s commercial recording studio, Real World Studios in Wiltshire, UK, as well as his home studio. I/o also stars his trusted collaborators, including guitarist David Rhodes, bassist Tony Levin and drummer Manu Katché, with Brian Eno, Gabriel’s daughter Melanie and many more making guest appearances.

I/o is no ordinary album release, as each song is subject to two stereo mixes: the Bright-Side Mix, handled by Mark SpikeStent, and the Dark-Side Mix, by Tchad Blake.

Gabriel explained in a press release, “We have two of the greatest mixers in the world in Tchad and Spike, and they definitely bring different characters to the songs. Tchad is very much a sculptor building a journey with sound and drama; Spike loves sound and assembling these pictures, so he’s more of a painter.”

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The new album is now available to play on streaming services, with physical copies to be released on 8 March 2024.

Fans can pre-order Bright-Side and Dark-Side mixes of the album on vinyl, with 2CD, 2CD and Blu-Ray, and 4LP, 2CD and Blu-Ray options available here.

Check out the entire i/o tracklist below.

Peter Gabriel announced the release of i/o in November last year, followed by the first single, Panopticom, in January 2023.

On releasing new songs on each full moon, he explained, “Some of what I’m writing about this time is the idea that we seem incredibly capable of destroying the planet that gave us birth and that unless we find ways to reconnect ourselves to nature and to the natural world, we are going to lose a lot.

“A simple way of thinking about where we fit into all of this is looking up at the sky… and the moon has always drawn me to it.”

I/o follows Gabriel's 2011 record, New Blood, his orchestral re-recording project. New Blood came a year after his cover album, Scratch My Back. His last album of solo-written material was 2002's Up, released an entire decade after 1992's Us.

Peter Gabriel – i/o Tracklist:

  1. Panopticom

  2. The Court

  3. Playing For Time

  4. i/o

  5. Four Kinds Of Horses

  6. Road To Joy

  7. So Much

  8. Olive Tree

  9. Love Can Heal

  10. This Is Home

  11. And Still

  12. Live And Let Live