Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Announce New Album 'Wild God'

7 March 2024 | 8:43 am | Mary Varvaris

'Wild God' is a ten-track “complicated” album, but “it seems we’re happy,” Nick Cave said.

Nick Cave

Nick Cave (Credit: Ian Allen)

More Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds More Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

One of the greatest alternative music acts, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, are back with a new album, Wild God.

The follow-up to 2019’s Ghosteen and the 18th album in their expansive discography, Wild God is almost touted as a… happy album? In addition to today’s album announcement, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have shared the title track, the first single from the new LP.

Witnessing a Wild God looking back over his life, the new single from the band almost sounds downright joyous, albeit with Cave’s signature storytelling displaying just how unique the song is – check it out below.

Wild God will be released via Bad Seed in partnership with Play It Again Sam on Friday, 30 August. You can pre-save or pre-order the album on CD, standard or limited-edition vinyl here.

Cave and Warren Ellis produced the new album, which was mixed by David Fridmann. Cave started writing for it on New Year’s Day last year.

Wild God was recorded at Miraval in Provence and Soundtree in London, and the Bad Seeds—Cave, Ellis, Thomas Wydler, Martyn Casey, Jim Sclavunos, and George Vjestica—were joined by Radiohead bassist Colin Greenwood and composer Luis Almau (nylon string guitar, acoustic guitar), offering some additional performances.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Wild God is a ten-track “complicated” album, but “it seems we’re happy,” Cave commented in a press release. He said about the album, “I hope the album has the effect on listeners that it’s had on me. It bursts out of the speaker, and I get swept up with it.

“It’s a complicated record, but it’s also deeply and joyously infectious. There is never a master plan when we make a record. The records rather reflect back the emotional state of the writers and musicians who played them. Listening to this, I don’t know, it seems we’re happy.”

He continued, “Wild God… there’s no f*cking around with this record. When it hits, it hits. It lifts you. It moves you. I love that about it.”

In other Nick Cave news, the singer is embarking on an intimate solo tour next month accompanied by Colin Greenwood. The pair will perform for three nights each in Melbourne and Sydney. The remaining tickets to the shows can be found here.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Wild God Tracklisting

1. Song Of The Lake
2. Wild God
3. Frogs
4. Joy
5. Final Rescue Attempt
6. Conversion
7. Cinnamon Horses
8. Long Dark Night
9. O Wow O Wow (How Wonderful She Is)
10. As The Waters Cover The Sea