Cat Power Announces New Album, Offers First Track

19 June 2012 | 12:08 pm | Dan Condon

Chan Marshall is back with a whole slew of original material.

More Cat Power More Cat Power

Chan Marshall has been hard at work on a new Cat Power album of late and this morning it was announced that the record is to be called Sun and will be released through Matador/Remote Control on Friday 31 August.

Marshall performed and produced the record by herself in a number of different locations, including a studio she built herself in the Californian city of Malibu - whether the climes of that particular area had something to do with the name of the record is yet to be seen.

It's the first record of original material we've had from Cat Power in over six years, following her most successful record to date, The Greatest in 2006 and Jukebox, an album of covers, in 2008.

A video for Ruin, the first single from the record was also released this morning. Watch the Austin Conroy directed clip below.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

You can download the track for free right here.

The tracklist for Sun:

1. Cherokee
2. Sun
3. Ruin
4. 3,6,9
5. Always On My Own
6. Real Life
7. Human Being
8. Manhattan
9. Silent Machine
10. Nothin But Time
11. Peace And Love