Flume, Troye Sivan, DD Dumbo Win Big At The 2017 APRA Music Awards

3 April 2017 | 10:30 pm | Staff Writer

It has been a solid 12 months for Aussie music

It’s been a massive 12 months for emerging and established talent in Australia, and the results of the 2017 APRA Music Awards paint a picture of the burgeoning scene, with local dance legend Flume scoring multiple wins as Troye Sivan, DD Dumbo and more are bestowed recognition for their hard work.

Tonight’s Sydney-based awards ceremony saw Flume add three more titles to his ever-expanding resume, including Songwriter Of The Year, which was backed up by his Kai collab, Never Be Like You, taking out Dance Work Of The Year and Most Played Australian Work.

After claiming Album Of The Year at the J Awards, DD Dumbo was honoured with Song Of The Year for Satan, while Troye Sivan on his quest to take over the world was named Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year.

Fellow international force Sia took home Pop Work Of The Year with Cheap Thrills, Archie Roach was the recipient of the 2017 Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services To Australian Music and Perth rockers Birds Of Toyko’s I’d Go With You Anywhere was crowded Rock Work Of The Year.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Hosted by Julia Zemiro with appearances from guest presenters Bernard Fanning, Hayley Mary (The Jezabels) and more, attendees were treated to performances from Tkay Maidza, DD Dumbo (playing his Song Of The Year), Busby Marou covering Amy Shark, Kate Miller-Heidke covering Tim Minchin and more.


Song of the Year

DD DumboSatan

Songwriter of the Year

Harley Streten (Flume)

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year

Troye Sivan

Overseas Recognition Award

Sam Dixon

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music

Archie Roach

Licensee of the Year Award

The Gov

Most Played Australian Work

Flume feat. Kai - Never Be Like You

Most Played Australian Work Overseas

Vance JoyRiptide

International Work of the Year


Country Work of the Year

Aleyce Simmonds - Greatest Companion

Blues & Roots Work of the Year

Robbie Miller - The Pain Artist

Dance Work of the Year

Flume feat. Kai - Never Be Like You

Rock Work of the Year

Birds of Tokyo - I’d Go With You Anywhere

Pop Work Of The Year

SiaCheap Thrills

Urban Work of the Year

Illy feat. Vera Blue - Papercuts