Craig Nicholls & Nick Littlemore To Drop All-Star Album In April

12 March 2015 | 5:35 pm | Staff Writer

The White Shadows project's debut LP will hit shelves on the 10th of next month

More The Vines More The Vines

Eclectic Aussie muso Craig Nicholls, best known for his work as frontman of The Vines, and multi-talented contemporary Nick Littlemore — he of Pnau and Empire Of The Sun fame — have joined forces with an all-star cast of musicians to create a full-length album to encapsulate their new collaborative project, White Shadows.

With a release date set for 10 April via Wicked Nature Music/MGM Distribution, the album — Secret Of Life — boasts a seriously impressive roster of guests, with the tracks ably programmed, co-produced and mixed by junior Littlemore sibling Sam La More (Peking Duk, Parachute Youth) as the cherry on top. Seriously, look at this list of names and just try not to be a little bit impressed: Secret Of Life sees guest spots coming from Midnight Oil's Jim MoginieStella Mozgawa of WarpaintTouch Sensitive, the lads of Boy & BearKirin J Callinan, and Jagwar Ma, not to mention a diverse array of session musicians including, according to producer Nick Launay, "young punks, an older jazz musician, keyboards, marimbas, stylophones … a string section, kodo drums … an Egyptian singer … [and] a child soprano". 

The new concern have already made their first track, Give Up Give Out Give In, and from its opening strings to ethereal vocals and minimalist pulse, it's immediately clear that this and whatever else White Shadows have up their sleeve won't be even close to your typical Nicholls (or Littlemore, for that matter) affair.

Have a listen to the first cut below.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Secret Of Life is available for pre-order now.