EXCLUSIVE: Chet Faker Dominates Indie Music Awards Nominations

17 September 2012 | 3:01 pm | Scott Fitzsimons

360, Royal Headache, The Jezabels and DZ Deathrays also feature

More Chet Faker More Chet Faker

The nominations for this year's Jagermeister Independent Music Awards have been announced, with neo-soul poster boy Chet Faker amassing the most nominations across the categories with five.

Close behind him with four was hip hop star 360, while there are repeat appearances from Royal Headache, The Jezabels and DZ Deathrays.

The recently-announced awards will take place at Revolt again this year, with performances from Paul Kelly, The Bamboos, Hermitude, Loon Lake, House Vs Hurricane and more. Kane Hibberd will once again by curating a photo exhibition.

Faker's five nominations come across the main categories – Best Artist, Single or EP and Breakthrough – as well as genre-specific Dance/Electronic Album and Single/EP. (A tied number of nomination votes gives the Dance/Electronic Album category six nominees.)

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

The full list of nominations is available below:

Best Independent Artist
Ball Park Music
Chet Faker
The Jezabels
Royal Headache

Best Independent Album
360 - Falling And Flying (Soulmate)
DZ Deathrays - Bloodstreams (I Oh You)
The Jezabels - Prisoner (MGM)
Royal Headache - Royal Headache (RIP Society)
The Temper Trap - The Temper Trap (Liberation)

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year
Chet Faker
San Cisco
Royal Headache
The Rubens

Best Independent Single Or EP
360 - Boys Like You (Soulmate)
Alpine - Gasoline (Ivy League)
Chet Faker - Thinking In Textures (Opulent)
Oh Mercy - Drums (Casa Del Disco)
San Cisco - Awkward (Independent)

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
360 - Falling & Flying (Soulmate)
Funkoars - The Quickening (Golden Era)
Katalyst - Deep Impressions (Invada)
The Herd - Future Shade (Elefant Traks)
Yung Warriors - Standing Strong (Shock)

Best Independent Country Album
Graeme Connors - At The Speed Of Life (WJO)
Jess Ribeiro & The Bone Collectors - My Little River (Gaga)
Luke O'Shea - The Drovers Wife (WJO)
Sue Ray - Red Roses (Independent)
Warren H Williams - Urna Marra (Independent)

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album
Ash Grunwald - Troubles Door (Delta Groove)
John Butler - Tin Shed Tales (Jarrah)
Lanie Lane - To The Horses (Ivy League)
Saskwatch - Leave It All Behind (Northside/Shock)
Xavier Rudd - Spirit Bird (Salt X Records)

Best Independent Hard Rock Or Punk Album
Calling All Cars - Dancing With A Dead Man (Shock)
DZ Deathrays - Bloodstreams (I Oh You)
Frenzal Rhomb - Smoko At The Pet Food Factory (Shock)
House Vs Hurricane - Crooked Teeth (UNFD)
The Peep Tempel - The Peep Tempel (Wing Sing)

Best Independent Jazz Album
Barney McAll - Graft (Independent)
Benjamin Hauptmann - Benjamin Hauptmann (Independent)
Mike Nock - Hear And Know (FWM Records)
Peter Knight - Fish Boast Of Fishing (Listen Hear Collective)
The Vampires - Garfish (Earfish)

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album
Hermitude - HyperParadise (Elefant Traks)
Chet Faker - Thinking In Textures (Opulent)
Jonti - Twirligig (Misteltone)
Oliver Tank - Dreams (Yes Please)
T-Rek - Dance Music (Rubber)
Sampology - Doomsday Deluxe (Sampology Soundtracks)

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Single
Chet Faker - Terms And Conditions (Opulent)
Flume - Sleepless (Future Classic)
Parachute Youth - Can't Get Better Than This (Sweat It Out)
Tom Piper And Daniel Farley - L.G.F.U. (Hussle)
Tonite Only - Go (Downright)

The seventh annual awards will happen Tuesday 16 October at Kensington's Revolt in Melbourne.