Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Aloe Blacc Joins Bamboos' New Album

2 April 2012 | 8:32 pm | Scott Fitzsimons

More Aloe Blacc More Aloe Blacc

Aloe Blacc, Megan Washington, Tim Rogers, Daniel Merriweather and more guest on the Melbourne band's new album.

The Bamboos will release their fifth album Medicine Man Friday 1 June through Inertia. The Melbourne contemporary funk and soul outfit will feature a number of guests, as fans have already heard through single I Got Burned, which featured You Am I's Tim Rogers.

Other guests include Australian chart-toppers Megan Washington and Daniel Merriweather and soul star Aloe Blacc, on an album which has been given a pop-hook front by bandleader Lance Ferguson.

Bobby Flynn also lends his voice, regular collaborator Kylie Auldist sings on four songs and Melbourne's Ella Thompson contributes to three songs, as well as joining the live line-up.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Ferguson says of the record, “I'm proud of the arc of the evolution of the band and I think it's a natural progression of song writing. We still wear our influences on our sleeves, but it's definitely music for now.”

The band will perform I Got Burned with Rogers on ABC's Gordon St Tonight Wednesday 4 April.

The album's tracklisting is as follows:

Pictured: The Bamboos
1. I Never feat. Daniel Merriweather
2. Eliza feat. Megan Washington
3. I Got Burned feat. Tim Rogers
4. Cut Me Down
5. Medicine Man
6. Midnight feat. Bobby Flynn
7. What I Know
8. Where Does The Time Go? feat. Aloe Blacc
9. The Wilhelm Scream feat. Megan Washington
10. Hello Stranger
11. Window