Baker Boy Has Announced His Debut Album & A Duet With G-Flip!

16 July 2021 | 8:00 am | Staff Writer

"'Gela' is who I am, and it’s my story."

More Baker Boy More Baker Boy

Today's the day - Baker Boy has announced the release date for his long-awaited debut album!

The performer, real name Danzal Baker, has shared his first LP Gela will be released 15 October, with the artist saying, “Gela is who I am, and it’s my story.”

"I want people to see what my life is like, and where I come from... The journey from a remote community to living in the city and trying to adapt, and have that balance, is a lot of hard work, [but] it’s an amazing journey," said Baker. 

The news also comes off the back of a brand new single featuring Aussie indie-pop performer G Flip (aka Georgia Flipo). The collaborative track My Mind sees the pair writing together for the first time.

“Working with G Flip was a real privilege," Baker said of the team up. 

"We've known each other for a while through touring, but it was mad to see them in their element in the studio. G is a real talent, not only their voice, but their song writing is like no other! 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

"My Mind is a fun tribute to the incredible women in both of our lives, we're both really lucky to have incredible support networks so really it's a song for those people too!"

Flipo concurred, stating, "I've always been a big fan of Danzal. We met on the festival circuit over the years and our time slots were always back to back, so we’ve had a lot of hang time and a lot of beer time together!" 

They continue, "We met up at the studio sometime in 2019 and My Mind was written in a day, it’s a song about appreciating the beautiful women in our lives."

Check out My Mind below .

Gela is due for release on 15 October. Check out the tracklisting below and pre-save the album here.

Gela Tracklisting

1. Announcing The Journey (performed by Glen Gurruwiwi)

2. Survive feat. Uncle Jack Charles

3. My Mind feat. G Flip

4. Ride feat. Yirrmal

5. Butterflies

6. Cool As Hell

7. Move

8. Headphones feat. Lara Andallo

9. Somewhere Deep feat. Yirrmal

10. Funk Wit Us

11. Stupid Dumb

12. Meditjin feat. JessB

13. Ain't Nobody Like You feat. Jerome Farah

14. Make You Wanna Dance feat. Thando