Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Alex The Astronaut Announces First Australian Tour In Four Years

16 June 2022 | 10:02 am | Staff Writer

10 headline shows with a full band around the country this August and September

(Image via Jamie Heath)

More Alex The Astronaut More Alex The Astronaut

Singer, songwriter and storyteller Alex The Astronaut has announced her first Australian tour dates in almost four years.

The tour will support her forthcoming album album How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater which releases on the 22nd of July.

The tour will see her play 10 headline shows with a full band around the country this August and September with special guests to be announced. She'll also be stopping at Splendour In The Grass, River Sounds, River Sounds and Springtime festival. 

Alongside the announcement she's released the music video for her latest single Haircut. On the video, which was directed by Claudia Bailey, Alex stated, “I loved “Call Me By Your Name” when I first saw it because it was presented as a love story first, and not just a ‘gay story’. In the same way, I wanted to show a story about gender just as a story about growing up. I think the biggest part of growing up is our friends.

"Claud the director made such a beautiful, bright narrative about two friends working out themselves side by side that fits the song perfectly.”

You can check out all the tour details below and grab tickets HERE.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter


How To Grow A Sunflower Underwater Tour

Sunday July 24 - Splendour in the Grass - Bundjalung Nation / Byron Bay, NSW
Thursday August 11 - Freo Social - Noongar / Perth, WA
Saturday August 13 - Darwin Festival - Garramilla / Darwin, NT
Thursday August 18 - Kambri at ANU - Ngunnawal Country / Canberra, ACT
Friday August 19 - City Recital Hall - Eora / Sydney, NSW
Saturday August 20 - The Cambridge - Mulubinba / Newcastle NSW
Sunday August 21 - River Sounds - Gumbaynggirr Nation / Bellingen NSW
Friday September 2 - Tanks Arts Centre - Gimuy / Cairns QLD
Saturday September 3 - The Triffid - Meeanjin / Brisbane, QLD
Sunday September 4 - Springtime Festival - Kombumerri Country / Gold Coast, QLD
Thursday September 8 - Corner Hotel - Naarm / Melbourne, VIC
Friday September 9 - Altar - nipaluna / Hobart, TAS
Saturday September 10 - Uni Bar - Kaurna Land / Adelaide, SA