Skip to main content
 Close Ad

industry > News

National Indigenous Music Awards Announce 2014 Finalists

2014 NIMA nominee Dan Sultan. Pic by Kane Hibberd.
Jul 24th 2014 | 12:01am | Staff Writer
The National Indigenous Music Awards are shoring up for arguably their biggest year yet, with today’s announcement of 2014’s list of nominees revealing that widely acclaimed performers Jessica Mauboy, Gurrumul Yunupingu, Shellie Morris and Dan Sultan are the acts up for the coveted Artist Of The Year award.

“This year’s short-list of finalists exemplify the fact that Indigenous musicians continue to make a mark on the mainstream,” MusicNT executive director Mark Smith said in a statement. “Most, of, if not all, names in the national categories require no further explanation. Simply stating the names Jessica, Dan and Gurrumul is enough. Well done to these wonderful artists and to those emerging acts destined to break through following in the footsteps of those that go before them.”

Sultan has pretty much swept the nomination pool, with a total of five all up – he’s up for Clip Of The Year (Under Your Skin), Song Of The Year (The Same Man), Album Of The Year and Cover Art Of The Year (both for Blackbird), for which he stares down competition from renowned artist Tom E Lewis and stalwart hip-hopper Jimblah.


Rockhampton-based duo Busby Marou also put in a strong effort, snaring three nominations in two categories: Album Of The Year (Farewell Fitzroy) and Song Of The Year (double chances, with noms for My Second Mistake and Get You Out Of Here).

The Song Of The Year category is rounded out by venerated Indigenous troubadour Gurrumul, for Marilitja (he’s also up twice for Album Of The Year), and Dewayne Everettsmith.

North-east Arnhem Land ensemble East Journey, Central Desert’s Tjintu Desert Band, and talented rhymesmith Briggs have all been making inroads lately, with achievements such as festival appearances, showcase performances and further award nominations variably under their belts. All three acts are in contention for the hotly contested New Talent Of The Year award.

So, too, can we expect things from up-and-coming hip-hopper Philly, who has just taken out the annual triple j NIMA Unearthed Competition – previously won by renowned artists such as Thelma Plum and Robbie Miller – and will make his stage debut during NIMAs’ inaugural hip-hop showcase, at which he’ll join forebear and triple award nominee Jimblah, Briggs and The Last Kinection.

The winners of the 2014 National Indigenous Music Awards will be revealed in Darwin on Friday, August 15. The ceremony, which will be hosted by TV personality Aaron Pederson, will be a live performance from Sultan and the enthralling Arnhem Land dance troupe Djuki Mala (aka the Chooky Dancers), as well as the hip-hop showcase and spots from cover-art nominee Tom E Lewis and Jacinta Price, Catherine Satour and Mandy Garling – aka the Desert Divas – who will be accompanied by some seriously slick local ochestral musicians.

This year’s NIMAs take place at The Amphitheatre, George’s Green, in Darwin. If you’re in the area, tickets are available now – it’s an easy $30 per adult, $25 per concession (also per-person group rate), and totally free for the young ones aged 12 and under.

For more information about the NIMAs, see the awards’ website.

Watch the videos up for Clip Of The Year, below, then check out the full list of nominees.





full list of nominees

National Artist of the Year

Jessica Mauboy
Dan Sultan
Gurrumul Yunupingu
Shellie Morris

National Song of the Year

My Second Mistake, Busby Marou
Marilitja, Gurrumul
It’s Like Love, Dewayne Everettsmith
  March, Jimblah
The Same Man, Dan Sultan
Get You Out Of Here, Busby Marou

National Album of the Year

Blackbird - Dan Sultan
His Life and Music with Sydney Symphony Orchestra (Live) - Gurrumul
His Life and Music Studio album with string quartet - Gurrumul
Farewell Fitzroy - Busby Marou

National New Talent of the Year

  East Journey
Tjintu Desert Band

National Cover Art of the Year

Blackbird - Dan Sultan
Cover Art: Ken Taylor

Beneath the Sun - Tom E Lewis
Cover Art: Michael Hohnen

Phoenix, Jimblah
Cover Art: Sarah McCloskey & Dale Harrison

National Film Clip of the Year

Bright Lights Big City - East Journey
Director/Filmmaker: Naina Sen
Executive Producer: Susan Sandery

Brotherman - Jimblah
Director: Brendan J Doyle
Producer: Navid Bahadori, Natalie Croker

Under Your Skin - Dan Sultan
Director/Producer: Stephen Page

Community Clip of the Year [now national]

Bush Food is Really Really Good [Manmoyi, NT]
Directors: Paul Williams & Terrah Guymala 
Performers: The Kids of Manmoyi and Nabarlek Band Members
  Funded by Department of Health

KNX Respect [Kununurra, WA]
Indigenous Hip Hop Projects (IHHP)
Ord Valley Aboriginal Health Service (OVAHS)

Fly Back Home [Ampilatwatja, NT]
Desert Sevenz
Desert Pea Media

E Girlz [Wutunugurra]
Desert Pea Media


Related Articles

Poster IT

Connect with The Music

Subscribe to Daily Newsletter