Skip to main content

industry > News

Catherine Britt Signs With Universal’s New Lost Highway Imprint

Catherine Britt today
Jan 22nd 2014 | 2:42pm | Scott Fitzsimons
Newcastle alt-country singer Catherine Britt has signed with Universal's Lost Highway's imprint, the artist confirming to today that she is the first signing of the label's Australian operations.

Previously with ABC Music, where she released her album Always Never Enough and late last year the compilation record The Hillbilly Pickin' Ramblin' Girl So Far, Britt told at the Tamworth Country Music Festival today, “I've just a brand new record deal… I've just signed to Unviersal and we're bring out the Lost Highway imprint in Australia.”

Based in Nashville, the label has released records by Ryan Adams and soundtracks to O Brother, Where Art Thou? And Deadwood.

The Australian arm is being run by Universal's Michael Taylor, who last year was promoted to Executive Vice President A&R Universal Music & Island Records Australasia.

Taylor's credited with a number of Universal's international success stories recently, with artists including Lorde, The Preatures and Havana Brown flourishing under the 'sign local, sell global' mentality.

“I can start to help out the labels getting their stuff released in other territories, help export the music,” Taylor told theMusic at the time.

“I don't know about importing American things,” Britt said of the label's plans. “They're definitely going to try and develop this roots country world and sign some more acts to Lost Highway. Hopefully that's a success and I'm happy to be their first in their vision of that."

Following the festival Britt will be spending two months writing for her next record, which will be the ARIA and APRA Award-nominated singer's sixth.


Related Articles

Poster IT

Connect with The Music

Subscribe to Daily Newsletter


<span>Caravana Sun</span><br />Oxford Art Factory

Caravana Sun
Oxford Art Factory

<span>Sticky Fingers</span><br />The Bakery

Sticky Fingers
The Bakery

<span>The Snowdroppers</span><br />Young Henry's Small World Street Festival

The Snowdroppers
Young Henry's Small World Street Festival

<span>One Day</span><br />Enmore Theatre

One Day
Enmore Theatre

<span>Bad//Dreems</span><br />Newtown Social Club

Newtown Social Club

<span>King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard</span><br />The Workers Club

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
The Workers Club

<span>Justin Timberlake</span><br />Etihad Stadium

Justin Timberlake
Etihad Stadium

<span>Robbie Williams</span><br />Rod Laver Arena

Robbie Williams
Rod Laver Arena

<span>Angus & Julia Stone & Thebarton Theatre</span><br />

Angus & Julia Stone & Thebarton Theatre

this week's magazine

Digital Version
Airlie Beach Music Festival Australasian Worldwide Music Expo Beyond The Valley BIGSOUND Bleach Festival Blue Mountains Music Festival Blues At Bridgetown Bluesfest Brisbane Festival Brunswick Music Festival Bruthen Blues & Arts Festival Caloundra Music Festival Campfire Festival CoLAB Deni Blues & Roots Dungog Festival Earth Frequency Festival Fairbridge Folk Festival Falls Festival Falls Festival Falls Festival Festival Of The Sun Follow The Sun Festival Gorgeous Festival Great Southern Blues Festival Gympie Music Muster HyperFest JamGrass Music Festival Jungle Love Music & Arts Festival Just For Laughs Listen Out Listen Out Listen Out Listen Out Lost Paradise Manifest Melbourne Music Week Meredith Music Festival Mitchell Creek Rock 'n' Blues MOFO Mullum Music Festival Nannup Music Festival Noosa Jazz Festival NYE On The Hill Originals Music Festival Out On The Weekend Outlet Music Festival OutsideIn Paradise Music Festival Poison City Weekender Port Fairy Folk Festival Queenscliff Music Festival Rainbow Serpent Festival Riverboats Music Festival Rottofest Soulfest Soulfest Soulfest Soundwave Soundwave Soundwave Soundwave Southbound Splendour In The Grass Stereosonic Stereosonic Stereosonic Stereosonic Stereosonic Strawberry Fields Subsonic Sugar Mountain Festival Sydney Country Music Festival Sydney Fringe Festival Tamworth Country Music Festival The Blurst Of Times Festival The Hills Are Alive Toowoomba Carnival Of Flowers UNIFY: A Heavy Music Gathering Valley Fiesta WOMAdelaide Woodford Folk Festival Yours And Owls

The Music Store

Australasian Music Industry Directory
The ultimate print sourcebook for all the contacts…
Jun 18th 2014
Arts Advertising Packages
The Music Arts Packages provide promotion in The Music…
Jun 18th 2014
Indie Band Advertising Packages
The Music Indie Band Packages provide promotion in…
Jun 18th 2014
Galleon Krueger for Sale
Galleon Krueger Bass Amplifier. 1001RB As new, current…
Jul 12th 2014
Jazz guitarists wanted for weekend jams.
We are a bass and drums unit rehearsing in St Peters…
Jul 12th 2014
Premier Sydney Punk/Rock Band seeks Drummer
One of Sydneys Premier Punk Rock Bands seeks energetic…
Jun 18th 2014